Going through doors - opening of course :)

Istar

First Post
How is this done, where do move and minor actions start and end.

Can you move 3 to a door, minor action open, then finish the move to go another 3 squares ??

Or is it move 3 to door (end of move), minor to open, another move action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

How is this done, where do move and minor actions start and end.

Can you move 3 to a door, minor action open, then finish the move to go another 3 squares ??

Or is it move 3 to door (end of move), minor to open, another move action.
I would choose the second option. Not only do I think that's RAW (no interleaving of actions on your turn), but also that I expect a closed door to cost a little more time than an open one. Having to spend a minor action in the middle of your move is an almost negligible cost - it might as well have been a curtain in that doorway.
 


While I agree that you can't insert a (non-free) action into the middle of another action, I think it would be perfectly reasonable (and well within DMG guidelines) to instead charge extra squares of movement for passing through a closed doorway (which would afterwards be considered open).

How I'd rule it if it came up in my campaign is that a regular, reasonably maintained, easily opened door would cost an extra square of movement (assuming the character had a hand free to manipulate the door, if it requires such). A stiffer door, or one that swings towards you instead of away, might cost two extra squares. If a door is so difficult to open that it's worth three or more extra squares of movement to go through, then should it really be a minor action to open when adjacent?

After the character passed through, most doors would be considered to remain open. If they want to close it after passing through, then I'd probably require them to stop and spend the minor action.
 
Last edited:

Yep that sounds fair.

What about free actions, such as Wardens Mark, can they be inserted part way through an action:

1. Part way through a move - I wouldnt think so.

2. In a charge, at the end of the move part, but before the attack ?
 

Yep that sounds fair.

What about free actions, such as Wardens Mark, can they be inserted part way through an action:

1. Part way through a move - I wouldnt think so.

2. In a charge, at the end of the move part, but before the attack ?

I would say no to both.
 

The rules are a bit hazy there, but my initial reaction is to agree with Dice4Hire on those two. I was referring more to such things as talking, rather than using class features.

For instance, if one can't do any free actions whilst doing something else, then technically one wouldn't be able to scream with rage while charging a foe... and that's just silly.

I'm not sure allowing either of your two hypotheticals would actually break anything, though, so I may just be erring on the side of caution.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top