Reach only affects powers with a range of 'weapon' that use a melee weapon.
So if it said 'Close 1' that's a range of 1 regardless of if you're using a reach weapon or not. However, if it said 'Melee weapon' then it would.
You're looking for the word 'weapon' after the attack type, and if it is there, you can plug in the range/reach of your weapon. Otherwise, it's predefined.
In PHB2 on page 219 there's an insert 'Movement Effects' that elaborates on forced movement rules:In a somewhat related question, lets say a Goliath Avenger takes the Goliath path, gaining reach 2. Avenger has an at-will that lets them shift 1 and slide the target "1, into the space they left" or something like that.
If the target is 2 spaces away, and you slide them 1 into the space you left...what happens? 1 space is not enough to get them into the space you left.
This.In PHB2 on page 219 there's an insert 'Movement Effects' that elaborates on forced movement rules:
It says that if a movement effect specifies a destination, you either move to the destination or not at all. You cannot chose to let the movement end somewhere inbetween.
Now, if the effect specifies both a destination and a maximum number of squares that is too low to let you move to the destination, I'd say you cannot choose to let the move end at the destination, i.e. there's no move at all. That's just my interpretation, though, it's not explicit in the rules.