Grant conjurations cover?

Zeven

Explorer
When standing behind a conjuration (such as a flaming sphere or spirit companion) do I have cover against ranged attacks?

7
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I can find no rule stating a Conjuration can provide cover for a target standing behind it as long as Line of Effect and Line of Sight have been established. PHB pg 59 (errata) as well as PHB2 pg 220 state a conjuration occupies no squares unless a power description states differently.

I did find some posts on the D&D forum coming from Customer Service stating a Shaman spirit does/doesn't provide cover: sham spirit companion - Wizards Community
 

I can find no rule stating a Conjuration can provide cover for a target standing behind it as long as Line of Effect and Line of Sight have been established. PHB pg 59 (errata) as well as PHB2 pg 220 state a conjuration occupies no squares unless a power description states differently.

I did find some posts on the D&D forum coming from Customer Service stating a Shaman spirit does/doesn't provide cover: sham spirit companion - Wizards Community

Thanks for the link! I agree that normally a Conjuration doesn't provide cover, but what happens if the Conjuration does occupy a square (e.g. the spirit companion)? It's not a creature, and therefore not an ally or enemy, but is it an obstacle?

My players would argue that it is for their enemies, because they can't move through its space. Even better, it isn't an obstacle for them, because it doesn't block their movement. I'm not sure whether I'm happy with this interpretation.
 

Occupying a square is not sufficient to make something cover. It must be a legitimate obstacle, or an enemy, neither of which describe a conjuration.

Of course, there are exceptions, some spell effects explicitly say they provide cover.
 

Occupying a square is not sufficient to make something cover. It must be a legitimate obstacle, or an enemy, neither of which describe a conjuration.
This seems to be a bit of circular reasoning. Could you explain why a conjuration (which occupies a square) is not "a legitimate obstacle"?
 

Here's a more exact answer.

Non-creature Conjurations do not block line of effect, and are not enemies. That's what determines cover. Creature conjurations do provide cover against enemies.

Obstacles are terrain features, which conjurations are not.
 


Non-creature Conjurations do not block line of effect, and are not enemies. That's what determines cover. Creature conjurations do provide cover against enemies.

What precisely is a creature conjuration? Do you have an example of a conjuration that explicitly says it conjures a creature (or ally/enemy)?

How do we know "conjurations (which can attack, and which occupy space) are not enemies"?

Because conjurations aren't defined as creatures, enmies, or allies? Compare them to powers with the summoning keyword. Those 'things' are clearly defined as allied creatures. There is no such definition is conjurations.
 
Last edited:

What precisely is a creature conjuration? Do you have an example of a conjuration that explicitly says it conjures a creature (or ally/enemy)?



Because conjurations aren't defined as creatures, enmies, or allies? Compare them to powers with the summoning keyword. Those 'things' are clearly defined as allied creatures. There is no such definition is conjurations.


The summoning items from AV (jade macetail, etc) are like this:
"Power (Daily • Conjuration): Standard Action. Use this figurine to conjure a macetail behemoth that appears to be made of jade (see below for statistics). As a free action, you can spend a healing surge when activating this item to give the creature temporary hit points equal to your healing surge value."

And in the creature stat block:

"When you activate a figurine, the conjured creature appears in a space adjacent to you, provided the space is large enough to contain the creature without squeezing."

It's a power with the "conjuration" keyword, but does not create a conjuration.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top