Grappled and Breath Weapon vs Evard's Black Tentacles

Lord Thurham

First Post
The PCs have a Half Red-Dragon/Orc that grappled by 3 tentacles from the Evard’s Black Tentacles. I figure that the half-dragon on his turn has 4 options

1) Attempt to break free
Has a +6 Str adjustment, chances are the half dragon will not be able to break free from all 3 tentacles. Poor option.
2) Attack the Tentacles
Probably can’t do enough grapple damage to get rid of all three tentacles in one round. Poor option as it will take several rounds to get out of this mess.
3) Cast a spell
DC is 20+spell level, the half-dragon does not have any points on Concentration. Again, poor option as there is a slim chance of actually getting the spell off.
4) Breath his breath weapon for 6d10 fire damage to the tentacles (Reflex for half damage)
The way I am reading it, it looks like the half dragon is allowed to use his breath weapon. The three tentacles that are holding it would be within the area of the cone. Each tentacle has 9 hit points, even if they save, they are toast.

Given the above options, the breath weapon seems like the likely thing that this half-dragon would do. Here’s where I have a couple of questions for the collective minds of the EN World. Let me know what you think.

Question: I can’t find anything on the effects of Grappled vs. Breath Weapon. Is there a penalty or a DC to actually get the breath weapon off? If so, where may I find this text.

Question: If the half-dragon does succeed in killing the tentacles with the breath weapon (a standard action), can the half-dragon still move for the second part of his turn or are the remnants of the tentacles still present and the half-dragon must untangle himself from the remnants? My view is that the tentacles disappear when they are killed, but I can’t find any text on that either.

LT
 

log in or register to remove this ad

He can go ahead and use the breath weapon. With no facing rules in 3e there really aren't any checks to see if he could do it by htting them all and a breath weapon doesn't take concentration like a spell like ability would so no DC to see if he can.

He can move. The tentacles sitll holding on might be a nice flavor based house rule but still a house rule.
 

Shard O'Glase said:
He can go ahead and use the breath weapon. With no facing rules in 3e there really aren't any checks to see if he could do it by htting them all and a breath weapon doesn't take concentration like a spell like ability would so no DC to see if he can.

He can move. The tentacles sitll holding on might be a nice flavor based house rule but still a house rule.

I'm aware there is no concentration check for a breath weapon, is there anything that has been written on the topic. I can see the players protesting when the breath weapon happens, so I just want to have the homework done so that it doesn't become an issue.

On the "No Facing" issue, the breath weapon does have to go in a specified direction, what if the half-dragon couldn't turn his head or body to direct the breath weapon, or does he automatically have the ability to aim the breath weapon in any direction he chooses? Perhaps he "finds" the opportunity, while he is struggling, to aim the breath weapon sometime during his standard action? I'm looking for text to back up my final ruling. I'm pretty much going to let him do the breath weapon. I'm just not sure if there is going to be hinderance in doing so and hinderance in aiming it in the direction he wishes to. Has anyone seen anything on this?

LT
 



Remove ads

Top