Grappling and the initial movement into your space

Particle_Man

Explorer
I had a 3.5 question involving a Huge creature with BAB +12 initiating a grapple:

To start a grapple, I need to grab an opponent (a touch attack), succeed on the grapple check, and then move into an opponent's space. That movement does not count against the total amount I can move in a turn, but does it count as part of a move action if I move more than 5', or if I move over difficult terrain?

If moving into the opponent's space does not count as a move action (and perhaps it all counts as part of the attack action, since in theory I could have moved, say 10' before the initial attack to start the grapple), could I use my 3 iterative attacks to a) Get into the grapple, b) Pin my opponent, and c) grapple to damage the opponent, throw the opponent, disarm the opponent, etc.?

If moving into the opponent's space does count as a move action, then if I miss with my first touch attack to start the grapple (roll a natural 1 that is not a botch, say) but hit and grab my opponent with my 2nd iterative attack, would I be unable to move into his space it it required me to take more than a 5' step, since I have made multiple attacks (and thus have to let the opponent go immediately)?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

To start a grapple, I need to grab an opponent (a touch attack), succeed on the grapple check, and then move into an opponent's space. That movement does not count against the total amount I can move in a turn, but does it count as part of a move action if I move more than 5', or if I move over difficult terrain?

By RAW, difficult terrain or long reach shouldn't stop you from moving to occupy the opponent's square. The movement is part of the combat maneuver. Just like how you could move and use a standard action to bull rush someone 15 ft, moving that distance even though you used a move action already. (Why didn't the example person just use a charge for a +2 on the bull rush instead of move + standard? I don't know, maybe the charging path was obstructed, it's just an example)

If moving into the opponent's space does not count as a move action (and perhaps it all counts as part of the attack action, since in theory I could have moved, say 10' before the initial attack to start the grapple), could I use my 3 iterative attacks to a) Get into the grapple, b) Pin my opponent, and c) grapple to damage the opponent, throw the opponent, disarm the opponent, etc.?

Yes. Assuming you succeeded on the first try each time. By c) you're only using BAB +2, of course.

If moving into the opponent's space does count as a move action, then if I miss with my first touch attack to start the grapple (roll a natural 1 that is not a botch, say) but hit and grab my opponent with my 2nd iterative attack, would I be unable to move into his space it it required me to take more than a 5' step, since I have made multiple attacks (and thus have to let the opponent go immediately)?

You could move into his space still.
 

This question reminds me of a recent situation in our group:

Also, a Huge creature with reach.
In this case, the creature attacked and grappled a creature that was flying above him.

Obviously, the (landbound) creature couldn't move into the opponent's space, so we ruled he was pulled down.

What would be the RAW solution to this?
 

This question reminds me of a recent situation in our group:

Also, a Huge creature with reach.
In this case, the creature attacked and grappled a creature that was flying above him.

Obviously, the (landbound) creature couldn't move into the opponent's space, so we ruled he was pulled down.

What would be the RAW solution to this?

I'd just ad hoc it like you did. The perfectly RAW answer would probably be the huge creature grabs onto the flier and tries to enter it's square cube, "pull up" style. Then the flier obviously is encoumbered WELL past maximum weight it can bear aloft and they both fall to the ground.
 

I'd just ad hoc it like you did. The perfectly RAW answer would probably be the huge creature grabs onto the flier and tries to enter it's square cube, "pull up" style. Then the flier obviously is encoumbered WELL past maximum weight it can bear aloft and they both fall to the ground.

That or it turns out to be the strongest bird EVAR and flies off with its Huge playmate, making grapple checks to move at half speed at usual. :)
 

I had a 3.5 question involving a Huge creature with BAB +12 initiating a grapple:

To start a grapple, I need to grab an opponent (a touch attack), succeed on the grapple check, and then move into an opponent's space. That movement does not count against the total amount I can move in a turn, but does it count as part of a move action if I move more than 5', or if I move over difficult terrain?

If moving into the opponent's space does not count as a move action (and perhaps it all counts as part of the attack action, since in theory I could have moved, say 10' before the initial attack to start the grapple), could I use my 3 iterative attacks to a) Get into the grapple, b) Pin my opponent, and c) grapple to damage the opponent, throw the opponent, disarm the opponent, etc.?

If moving into the opponent's space does count as a move action, then if I miss with my first touch attack to start the grapple (roll a natural 1 that is not a botch, say) but hit and grab my opponent with my 2nd iterative attack, would I be unable to move into his space it it required me to take more than a 5' step, since I have made multiple attacks (and thus have to let the opponent go immediately)?

You are only required to move into your opponents space "To maintain the grapple for later rounds"

You can still do all of the other things without being in the same space.
 

Remove ads

Top