Grasping Hand meets Wall of Force

Infiniti2000

First Post
A character is grappled by a grasping hand and the following round a wall of force separates the caster of the grasping hand and the victim. Does the grasping hand remain grappled with the victim?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


You've already created the grasping hand spell effect in a location to which you had line of effect. The spell continues to operate over its duration unless dispelled.

Everything in the hand spell descriptions reads to me as if the hand takes actions on its own. The only direction that it needs is to switch to a new target. It's not clear to me that you even need line of effect to direct a spell, in any case.

Yes, the hand continues to exist and to make grapple checks against the same target. The only question is whether the caster can call it off if he chooses.
 

blargney the second said:
A wall of force can't be cast in a space that's occupied by a creature. (Let alone two.)
Agreed, but maybe I didn't word the question properly. The wall of force separates the caster of the grasping hand and the victim+hand of the grasping hand. The actual hand and victim are not intended to be separated.
Starglim said:
You've already created the grasping hand spell effect in a location to which you had line of effect. The spell continues to operate over its duration unless dispelled.
I kind of agree and thus ruled that way in the game. The victim wild shaped into a triceratops, however and broke out. She already had animal growth on her previously, too. And then to see the triceratops cast spells . . . :eek:
 

Remove ads

Top