Grenade-like and splash weapons

Tharkon

First Post
Me and my friends haven't made much use of grenade-like and splash weapons so I am wondering if anyone here could answer some questionss for me.

First, are grenade-like and splash weapons different or are they the same kind of weapons?
If different, what differences do they have, the PHB (p158) only describes splash weapons but other books (like SS, p47) mention grenade-like weapons?

When targeting a creature a splash weapon affects 9 squares (3x3), even when it misses, but when targeting an intersection it targets only 4 squares (2x2), this makes the explosion half as big, why?

Someone mentioned you get a +4 bonus when attacking inanimate objects and an intersection would count as an inanimate object. When I look for info on it in the PHB (p165) it says instead that inanimate objects have -2 to their AC and that anyone can get a +5 bonus on attack by taking a full-round action, does this mean an intersection is considered a Tiny inanimate object since it has an AC of 5 (PHB, p158) (-5 Dex, +2 size, -2 inanimate)? And do you get a +5 bonus of spending a full-round action on throwing the item? And does anyone understand the reasoning behind the -2 penalty for inanimate objects? Is it easier to hit a statue than it is to hit a helpless construct?

Furthermore, the PHB says on page 113 that any melee weapon can by thrown with a 10 ft. increment, but it imposes a -4 penalty and two-handed weapons require a full-round action. Likewise improvised thrown weapons have a 10 ft. increment and a -4 non-proficiency penalty.
However, on page 158 it says thrown weapons don't require proficiency and that you never take a -4 non-proficiency penalty.
Also, some other books (like CS, p110 and CAdv, p118) mention thrown weapons with range increments of 5 ft. which does not make any sense if you want to throw it 25 ft. or further. since you could see it as an improvised thrown weapon, not only reducing the penalty from -10 to -8 at 25 ft. but making it possible to throw it twice as far since improvised weapons have a max range of 50 ft. (PHB, p114) instead of 25 ft. So is the range increment of 5 ft, just there for show, or is it impossible to turn them into improvised weapons?

And what if the weapon has no range increment listed in its description, like the Flash Tube in SS (p47).

And finally, what happens if a weapon without splash damage misses or is targeted on an intersection, and what if there is a creature in the square or intersection (large creatures occupy intersections as well) it hits?

I have access to the FAQ and errata files but have not read them entirely word by word, so apologies if anything is answered in there. If it is, just point me to those and I'll read it there.
Thanks in advance for any insight on these questions.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

First, are grenade-like and splash weapons different or are they the same kind of weapons?
There's no mechanical difference.
When targeting a creature a splash weapon affects 9 squares (3x3), even when it misses, but when targeting an intersection it targets only 4 squares (2x2), this makes the explosion half as big, why?
It affects a radius of 5'. If you measure it from the center of a square it will also affect adjacent squares since it touches their centers, technically the diagonally adjacent squares shouldn't be covered as well, resulting in a similar number of squares (5). It's one of many oddities when using squares.
When I look for info on it in the PHB (p165) it says instead that inanimate objects have -2 to their AC and that anyone can get a +5 bonus on attack by taking a full-round action, does this mean an intersection is considered a Tiny inanimate object since it has an AC of 5 (PHB, p158) (-5 Dex, +2 size, -2 inanimate)?
Maybe, but I don't actually think so. I think it's just the -5 Dex.
And do you get a +5 bonus of spending a full-round action on throwing the item?
I guess. but I doubt you'd ever want to.
And does anyone understand the reasoning behind the -2 penalty for inanimate objects? Is it easier to hit a statue than it is to hit a helpless construct?
I think, you're overthinking this :)
A construct is a creature, a statue is an object. Creatures use different rules than objects. And that's that.
However, on page 158 it says thrown weapons don't require proficiency and that you never take a -4 non-proficiency penalty.
Huh? In what context? Is this a section about splash weapons? The -4 applies if you try to throw something that isn't meant to be thrown.
So is the range increment of 5 ft, just there for show, or is it impossible to turn them into improvised weapons?
I guess you could, but then you'd only deal the weight-based damage of an improvised weapon, not the damage of a thrown weapon.
And finally, what happens if a weapon without splash damage misses or is targeted on an intersection, and what if there is a creature in the square or intersection (large creatures occupy intersections as well) it hits?
Nothing, except maybe dealing minuscule damage to the floor. Note, that creatures usually don't completely fill their space (the gelatineous cube being a notable exception).
 

technically the diagonally adjacent squares shouldn't be covered as well, resulting in a similar number of squares (5). It's one of many oddities when using squares.
I did not know that, thanks.

I guess. but I doubt you'd ever want to.
It does explain why, when I tried out in the garden, I hit the square more often than I should though (assuming I have a BAB of +0 and a Dex of 10), especially at a range of 5 ft.

I think, you're overthinking this :)
I tend to hear that a lot.

Huh? In what context? Is this a section about splash weapons? The -4 applies if you try to throw something that isn't meant to be thrown.
I see, so everyone is proficient with objects that are meant to be thrown when throwing them, but not with objects that are not meant to be thrown. And I guess it extends to weapons by considering that a dagger or throwing axe needs to hit with the blade and not the hilt or handle, and therefore does require proficiency and would otherwise just deal as much damage as throwing a rock of the same size would.

Nothing, except maybe dealing minuscule damage to the floor. Note, that creatures usually don't completely fill their space (the gelatineous cube being a notable exception).
I noticed this when I laid down a 5-ft.-square on the floor in my room. Maybe it's because I'm used to the metric system in real life, but I was not aware a 5-ft.-square was so big.
 

Remove ads

Top