CapnZapp
Legend
Thanks. This actually is easy and clear.This is from the SRD, which I hope will clear up things:
For example, you may not reprint the statistics of a kobold wyrmpriest or the lich template in a Licensed Product, nor may you define these 4E References. You may, however, print a kobold wyrmpriest lich that you create and that is relevant to your Licensed Product.
So you can't reproduce the stats for a Goblin Cutter (because if you could, nothing would prevent you from repackaging the entire Monster Manual) - okay.
But you could create for instance a "Goblin Wirer", which would be a new entry in the list of goblin monsters. This Goblin Wirer could even be a minion of the same level as the existing Cutter, only perhaps with a different set of ability scores and/or a different weapon. Yes?
Now, most monsters are presented in the MM as a small set of specific monsters. There isn't a generic "Dwarf" for instance, but there is a set of dwarf monsters (namely two: the Dwarf Hammerer and the Dwarf Bolter). So in an adventure which features dwarfs, I don't see not being able to use* these two guys as a terribly restrictive rule, as you can create new iterations to your hearts desire (Dwarf Axeguard, Dwarf Matron, Dwarf Whatever).
*) I know you can use them, you can only not give full stats for them. But I completely understand this is effectively a ban on using them, especially when the alternative is so much easier on the reader/DM.
My question is instead for those monsters that don't come as a set of prepackaged monsters.
My first thought went to the Red Dragon, but then I realized it does come as a set (Young, Adult, etc). So you'll simply create a "Red Dragon Terror" or a "Skirmishing Red Young" with appropriate stats and you're fine.
Instead, let's take the Balhannoth as the example (perhaps the only monster in the entire Manual which have only the one "straight" entry?). Whatever trick you're trying to pull here ("Balhannoth Guard", "Sneaky Balhannoth" etc) you'll be redefining the given entry right?
What I'm saying here is that "Goblin Cutter" is of the form XY where you have two parts. A "Goblin Wirer", say, would be XZ which isn't redefining XY in any way. For the Balhannoth, the story is different because they give X and you can't create XZ or XS without that being a redefinition of (extension really) of the concept X.
So while you can do a "Goblin Guard" you can't do a "Balhannoth Guard" (or "Human Guard" for that matter). You'll have to rename it or reference it in general terms: "Xyzzy Guard" or "Tentacle Monster Worm Guard". Right?
Am I understanding this correctly?