Halloween Horror: Fear, Not Trauma

As we’re coming up to horror game season, it’s worth discussing safety tools.

In this season of horror games it is worth considering whether you might find safety tools useful for your Halloween game, given it’s the time to run something scary. Let’s investigate whether their inclusion might be worthwhile for your group by addressing the common concerns about safety tools.

fearnottrauma.jpg

Picture courtesy of Pixabay.

It Changes How Games Are Run​

This is true. You can play any game the way you want to, no matter what the designer’s intentions. But the inclusion of safety tools in a GM chapter of a game or as a free online resource shouldn't take anything away from your game. Like any GM advice, it is up to you what you use and how you run a game. Even though I’ve been running games for 40 years I still read those GM chapters, because there is often something new I can learn. RPGs offer many unique opportunities to experiment with a new technique or style. So in the same way you may have tried troupe style play, flashback narration, preludes and letting players make GM decisions, you might like to try a few safety tools.

Your Group Doesn’t Need It​