Help Adjudicate This Spell Battle!

Aluvial

Explorer
Ok, we have two wizards, one good, one evil.

The Good guy has spell resistance 28, the Bad SR 30

The good guy has two levels of spell turning left, the Bad has a full version with 9 levels.

The Good guy has a permenent detect invis, the Bad has greater invis (probably not important).

The Good casts polymorph other on the Bad and picks the form of a coat rack.

What should happen now?

Thanks,

Aluvial
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Good makes a Caster Level check to determine whether or not he overcomes Bad's spell resistance.

If he does, we move on to the Spell Turning protection.

Since both are warded by Spell Turning, a resonating field is set up, in which the following may occur:

Code:
d%	Effect
01–70	Spell drains away without effect.
71–80	Spell affects both of you equally at full effect.
81–97	Both turning effects are rendered nonfunctional for 1d4 minutes.
98–100	Both of you go through a rift into another plane.

Oops.

EDIT: To add:

Note that "form of a coatrack" is not possible with Polymorph Other (or Baleful Polymorph, in 3.5E), since it is limited to changing a creature into a creature.

If you want to turn the other guy into a coatrack, you'd need Polymorph Any Object, and the duration would likely be 1 hour (same as marionette to human, but in the other direction).

In the event of a 71-80 roll, you'd both turn into coatracks for an hour. After an hour, you'd both pop back into "normalcy," probably with all your protection spells gone.
 
Last edited:



Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Good makes a Caster Level check to determine whether or not he overcomes Bad's spell resistance.

If he does, we move on to the Spell Turning protection.

Since both are warded by Spell Turning, a resonating field is set up, in which the following may occur:

Code:
d%	Effect
01–70	Spell drains away without effect.
71–80	Spell affects both of you equally at full effect.
81–97	Both turning effects are rendered nonfunctional for 1d4 minutes.
98–100	Both of you go through a rift into another plane.

Oops.

EDIT: To add:

Note that "form of a coatrack" is not possible with Polymorph Other (or Baleful Polymorph, in 3.5E), since it is limited to changing a creature into a creature.

If you want to turn the other guy into a coatrack, you'd need Polymorph Any Object, and the duration would likely be 1 hour (same as marionette to human, but in the other direction).

In the event of a 71-80 roll, you'd both turn into coatracks for an hour. After an hour, you'd both pop back into "normalcy," probably with all your protection spells gone.
What if he doesn't have enough spell levels to create this "resonating field?"

Since the Good only has two levels of spell to block, wouldn't this spell still effect him if it overcame his resistance, and he failed his save?

Aluvial
 

Aluvial said:
What if he doesn't have enough spell levels to create this "resonating field?"

Doesn't matter. The spell description states, "If you and a spellcasting attacker are both warded by spell turning effects in operation, a resonating field is created." I doesn't say, "If you and a spellcasting attacker are both warded by spell turning effects in operation which would otherwise be sufficient to turn the spell, a resonating field is created."

Note that the resonating field is created regardless of how many spell levels remaining each caster has, because of the "fractional turning" rule:

SRD said:
When you are targeted by a spell of higher level than the amount of spell turning you have left, that spell is partially turned.

So, a resonating field occurs, and madcap antics ensue. :)
 

.....but only a small fraction of the time. Most of the time, it's boring.

10% chance both are coatracks

3% chance of planar hilarity.
 



Ah, being on another plane isn't all that bad, unless it's one of those places, which make it difficult to actually be there without some form of suffering. ;)

Had a rogue end up there once after a Prismatic Spray, but we could get that one back pretty quick, thanks to divinations, Knowledge (the planes), Plane Shift and Teleport. :)

Anyways... that should remind you not to use targeted spells against opposing mages, if you have your Spell Turning up. Bad things could happen! :D

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top