Help with Looking up/Confirming a ruling.

Ysgarran said:
I remember that 'Caster Level' is only a guide and not hard lower bound limit. That means a ninth level wizard with 'Craft Wonderous Item' and access to the spell 'Wall of Force' has the ability to create a 'Bead of Force', he doesn't have to wait to be 11th level.

Now, am I remembering this correctly and if I am can someone help with the location of that rule?

No. That directly contradicts the rule on DMG p. 178 under "Caster Level" -- regardless of what designers have written off-book.

See more on the topic here: www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html

(Edit: Thanks for the mention, IceBear!)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

No problem dcollins. I'm honestly unsure of what I'm going to do in my campaign (which is currently on break). No one has tried making anything other than wands, potions, and scrolls right now so I don't really have anyone trying to introduce magic items that might cause grief. Normally I side with Monte and Sean on things, but after seeing so many people complaining about certain magical items on these boards maybe enforcing caster levels is the thing to do.

Anyway, I have no real opinion on it at this point.

IceBear
 

Remove ads

Top