I've been playing for a while now, but don't really play casters, and was thinking of creating a caster character...probably a sorcerer. In doing some research on casting rules concerning magic and combat I came across this.
I'm going to change a few words and paraphrase a little, but this
is pretty much what is written.
In the Player's Handbook under Holding the Charge on page 126, it is stated that:
if the character doesn't discharge the spell on the round it is cast, the character can hold it indefinately....continuing to make touch attacks round after round. One creature can be touched as a standard action or up to 6 creatures as a full-round action.
But right under this it states that if you touch someone, even unintentionally, the spell is discharged.
Doesn't the latter just contradict the afore mentioned?
and/or
Is this saying that a caster can cast a single touch attack spell on up to 6 people with a full-round action if they hold the charge instead of discharging directly after casting?
I'm a little confused here.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Nyms
I'm going to change a few words and paraphrase a little, but this
is pretty much what is written.
In the Player's Handbook under Holding the Charge on page 126, it is stated that:
if the character doesn't discharge the spell on the round it is cast, the character can hold it indefinately....continuing to make touch attacks round after round. One creature can be touched as a standard action or up to 6 creatures as a full-round action.
But right under this it states that if you touch someone, even unintentionally, the spell is discharged.
Doesn't the latter just contradict the afore mentioned?
and/or
Is this saying that a caster can cast a single touch attack spell on up to 6 people with a full-round action if they hold the charge instead of discharging directly after casting?
I'm a little confused here.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Nyms