Holy Star dwomer keepers and divine metamagic (persistant spell)

Zamtap

First Post
ok i've done a google search and I can't see that this has been answered.

By RAW can a cleric of mystra/dweomer keeper with the initiate of mystra feat use the supernatural spell ability (from dweomer keeper) to cast a supernatural version of a divine metamagic (persistant spell) holy star?

please assume he's high enough caster level to cast holy star in the first place

BTW i'm not DM and not the player with the character and have interest in this question because I have a character in the party with the afore mentioned character, and we're soon going up against a 2-headed caster who can do greater dispel magic at will according to the DM so if the holy star and divine power are both supernatural they can't be dispelled, and if persistant they'll be there all day

Thanks Zamtap
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, they could. They'd have to pay the appropriate amount of Turning Attempts (7 I believe) in order to Divine Metamagic (Persistant Spell) the Holy Star spell. Although, I don't see the reason behind using the Supernatural Spell ability of the Dweomer Keeper to accomplish this, it is not necessary (unless they are doing something tricky, like they have up a Persistant Anti-Magic Field and want to cast Holy Star through it).

Also, look at the errata for Divine Metamagic, I beleive it changed a little bit.
 

Thanks for the quick reply

The trick is supernatural abilites are immune to being dispelled so these two "crucial" buffs remain in place after the greater dispellling has done it's work

yes the character has the necessary feats and turn attempts for this

Is the errata that adds "that you have" and "divine" to the description? or is there more?

Zamtap
 

Zamtap said:
The trick is supernatural abilites are immune to being dispelled so these two "crucial" buffs remain in place after the greater dispellling has done it's work

That's not the main problem with that class. Eliminating all components, as worded in the rules text for the class, means that there is no longer any XP cost to gate or wish (or any other spell.) Because of that, many DMs refuse to allow the class to work as written.
 


Remove ads

Top