How do I deal with a cheating player?

boxstop7

First Post
Hello All!

First, I just wanted to say thank you for your help on the spellthief issue...I definitely know how I want to handle that now. However, this issue I've got now is with the same player who wanted to tweak out the spellthief. I'm 99.9% sure he's at a minimum fudging die rolls, if not boosting scores, abilities and skill points as well. I've been playing with him for over 6 months, and it's a trend I've noticed since the beginning. But last weekend was a new level. I still can't figure how a 4th level spellthief consistently rolls 20+ on attack rolls for the duration of a gaming session. That's right: not a single roll below 20. When he rolls skill checks (his favorites are hide and move silently), he's giving me numbers above 40 for the result....at 4th level! I'm going to have a look at his character sheet this weekend to try to make heads or tails of it, but I'm at a loss right now. I know he's a munchkin, and when I addressed the spellthief issue and told him that his description was too unbalanced, he suddenly "lost interest" in playing a spellthief and wanted to switch his character out for a monk (because we all know that powergaming munchkins would NEVER play a monk, right?... :\ ). Anyway, I know this topic has likely been done to death, so if you would be so kind as to either chime in or direct me to past threads on the topic, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

- Jason

Post: One final note: this needs to be dealt with in a tactful manner. I have both a strong social and professional relationship with this guy...I don't want bad feelings to come...

Crothian

First Post
Why didn't you ask him when he got those 40's how he is doing that? Does he have to mplay in tyhe group, you can tactifully get his ass out of there.

shilsen

Adventurer