Hybrid Battlemind/Swordmage?

Omertalvendetta

First Post
Questions that came up in our session last night? Hopefully, you can follow me, there might be a bit of rambling... There's 3 of us in the party, my Human Seeker, a Human Monk/Avenger hybrid and a Half-elf Battlemind/Swordmage hybrid. We're thinking that the Battlemage (clever, eh?) marks work independent of each other, right?

As in, for example, with his hybrid battlemind, he has the battlemind's demand, and he chose Mind Spike (which states "...marked by you..."). With that in mind, if he marks anyone using his Aegis of Shielding (question within a question- the Aegies now becomes an encounter? does it mean he can only use his immediate interrupt once per encounter now instead of at will under hybrid ruling) can he use his Mind Spike ability on them if he did not "mark" them using Battlemind's Demand. As in, he marked the creature with Aegis, not Demand, would he be able to use Mind Spike on it? Or does it boldly state somewhere that hybrid things do not cross?

I'm thinking they don't cross, but a reference to the text where that is would be most appreciated as well as some explanations of the above dilemma, if you're able to follow me, hehe...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't have the books but I'm pretty sure you're supposed to only use class specific abilities for class specific marks.

Keyword : Supposed

Anyone else got anything?

FIRST

No "First", please. That's something we don't want here. ~ Admin
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Yes, it should work. "Mind spike" just demands "marked by you", not marked by your "Power/feature X).

I am still a bit worried that a battlemind lacks one opportunity action each round to make his enemy´s day really bad...
 

Since I have conflicting responses, can I get a second or third opinion. I'm leaning in the direction that you cannot, but in the RAW it says that you can, as it says "...marked by you..."... I just could've sworn I read somewhere that you cannot use powers from one class to benefit the other under hybrid ruling...??
 

There isnt an over-arching rule individual hybrid powers contra-indicate... if the hybrid ability doesnt say otherwise then you could have achieved the mark even by a Warlord or Bard handing it to you.
 

Since I have conflicting responses, can I get a second or third opinion. I'm leaning in the direction that you cannot, but in the RAW it says that you can, as it says "...marked by you..."... I just could've sworn I read somewhere that you cannot use powers from one class to benefit the other under hybrid ruling...??

There is no general rule. There are specific rules such as warlock curse damage only applies to warlock powers, or fighters can only mark with fighter powers.

A fighter|paladin hybrid could, however, use his combat challenge on a foe marked by his divine challenge. If you don't see a *specific* rule saying that you can't, then you're golden.

I'm certain in this case that you can use mindspike on your aegis target.
 

It's clear that an enemy marked by your Battlemind's Demand couldn't trigger your Swordmage Aegis power, since the Swordmage Aegises all state that the enemy needs to be marked via that specific power.

But using your Mind Spike on something marked via your Swordmage marking seems to work as far as I can tell. This doesn't seem like a place where it would be mechanically broken anyway: Swordmage Aegises all use Immediate actions, so you couldn't both Aegis of Assault and Mind Spike in the same round. So you can have a choice between, say, shielding your friend from damage or reflecting damage back on the attacker, but not both.
 

...the Aegies now becomes an encounter? does it mean he can only use his immediate interrupt once per encounter now instead of at will under hybrid ruling...
I do not believe so. It means you can only use the Aegis Power itself once per encounter to mark an enemy (until that enemy dies or the mark is removed, in which case you get the ability to mark back).

Once applied, the mark remains whether you're a hybrid or not, and the Aegis text states that if your marked target hits with an attack that doesn't include you then you can use an immediate action to reduce the damage, (or whatever your specific aegis does).

The only thing a Hybrid Swordmage loses in terms of their Aegis is the ability to switch their marked target before their original marked target dies.
 

The only thing a Hybrid Swordmage loses in terms of their Aegis is the ability to switch their marked target before their original marked target dies. Or the mark is superseded by another mark.

Correction added.

If you have another way to mark by virtue of being a defender/defender hybrid, you can shuffle your marks around at the cost of your minor actions.
 


Remove ads

Top