His castle is full of minions. Why would he restrict himself to an XP Budget?
OK, that is what I thought. IIRC, 5e doesn't have any rule that differentiates whether a target is engaged with an ally or not, but thought I might have misremembered. It has been so long since I actually looked at the rules!Your 'ruling' that attacking a grappled opponent has a chance of hitting an ally.
Always do - it is the only way to playThat's neither RAW nor RAI, but you do you.
In theory, your assumption has merit. In practice, I think we run into some issues. The concepts of XP budgets and CR have no allowance for magic items, given that the default assumption of 5e is that the game works fine without said magic items. The party, by the time they face Strahd in the Tarokka divined location, should have one or more powerful items to combat the Count. So, yeah, the XP/CR math gets quite fuzzy.XP budgets and challenge ratings exist for a reason. The game is set up for PCs of levels 1-10 so I assumed 5 PCs of level 9 is a fair match for a solo CR 15 legendary (scraping into deadly).
Both spells wont work at the same time though.
But that's OK - he comes out of a wall with Greater invisibility, and he takes 3 ranged attacks and 2 cantrip attacks (from a party of 5 PCs).
And as soon as he walks through the wall he is subject to (number of PCs) readied actions.
In the above case, teamwork helps. Have one PC grapple him (reducing his speed to zero). He can turn into a mist on his turn the following round, but is otherwise subject to full attacks from every other PC present.
Strahd: Moves out from from Wall, casts spell, receives X number of readied action attacks. Presuming he doesnt walk back through the wall after wards
PC 1: Moves over and Grapples him.
Strahd LA: Cant assume mist form or move.
PCs 2-5: Unload on him.
I'd be happy to run a mock combat with 5 x 9th level PCs (1 rare and 1 uncommon item each, no specials) in your choice of 'final room' from the Taroka deck to fight him in. You can run him and do all the rolls. I trust you.
I back myself to kill him.
In theory, your assumption has merit. In practice, I think we run into some issues. The concepts of XP budgets and CR have no allowance for magic items, given that the default assumption of 5e is that the game works fine without said magic items. The party, by the time they face Strahd in the Tarokka divined location, should have one or more powerful items to combat the Count. So, yeah, the XP/CR math gets quite fuzzy.
Just tell me the conditions and rules you want to use.
Ah. Okay. I was looking more at the general rule on how lair actions work and didn't see anything. I didn't notice how each creature can sometimes have specific restrictions on lair actions like the Sphinx who apparently can only ever use each one only once between rests.
How? Strahd cant see in magical Darkness and Blight requires a 'target you can see'.Strahd harasses the party out of the Darkness by casting Blight on the spell casters.
How come? Surely the advantage and disadvantage cancel each other out?Strahd is smacked by the Paladin even though he was striking Strahd with disadvantage.
Yes basically gave him Devilsight...but not to the Spawn...I also took away his ability to walk through walls.How? Strahd cant see in magical Darkness and Blight requires a 'target you can see'.
How come? Surely the advantage and disadvantage cancel each other out?
Did you give Strahd the ability to see in magical darkness?
I was thinking either that or Trueseeing (seeing as you upped his caster level).Yes basically gave him Devilsight
So he wasn't actually hidden. He was just in the radius of darkness. He needs to take the Hide action to Hide in darkness like anyone else.no...just hiding in the darkness...not as an action..
In the walkthrough I'm using he has stolen the powers of the three Fanes of Barovia, each granting him huge buffs. The Mountain Fane alone is +4 AC so he's up to 20. I forget the others, but they're equally strong. Trying to debuff him by consecrating the lost Fanes becomes an important side quest.To make Strahd even more dangerous there is no reason why he shouldn't have one or more of the dark gifts . . .
I know...he wasn't hidden per the rules...just per the English language...So he wasn't actually hidden. He was just in the radius of darkness. He needs to take the Hide action to Hide in darkness like anyone else.
The PCs (other than the Warlock) couldn't see him, target him with most spells, benefit from the Dodge action vs his attacks, or make opportunity attacks against him, but they could attack him (at disadvantage) with ranged and melee attacks just fine.
The Paladin didnt need the Warlock to tell him where Strahd was. He could have just walked over and attacked him (at disadvantage).