Immediate Interrupts Triggered By Enemy Rolls

Felon

First Post
There's a bard power, Sharp Retort, that's triggered when "an enemy rolls a saving throw". Should the player know the result of the saving throw when he uses this power, or is he just taking a chance that the power will alter the outcome?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's hard to say for certain, but 4e tends to be pretty generous about such things. For instance, when a Staff wizard uses his defensive Immediate Interrupt, he can know everything about the attack results, including the damage roll, before deciding whether to avert the attack.

I'd suggest erring on the side of generosity, and allowing the player to be certain the power will have a chance to make a difference before they expend it. Especially if it's an Encounter or Daily power.
 

I could see a DM ruling either way, but I'd say the trigger doesn't allow you to know the result, personally.

If it did, the trigger'd be 'an enemy succeeds at a saving throw.'

Contrast with Shield: You are hit with an attack.

You have to know the result of the roll, because you cannot be hit until the attack portion has resolved.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top