Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Improved Unarmed Strike and 2H weapons
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Felix" data-source="post: 3211190" data-attributes="member: 3929"><p>So, a longsword and a shield with spikes.</p><p></p><p>Only holding the longsword: he threatens with the longsword, and may take AoO's with it.</p><p>Only holding the shield: he threatens with the shield, and may take AoO's with it.</p><p></p><p><u>Option 1</u></p><p>Holding both: he threatens with the sword and the shield, and may take AoO's with either.</p><p></p><p><u>Option 2</u></p><p>Holding both: the threatens with only the sword, and may only take AoO's with the sword.</p><p></p><p>So you propose that because he is holding a sword, the character may not use his shield?</p><p></p><p></p><p>What criteria constitutes threatening? You must be holding it in your hand, check. What else?</p><p></p><p></p><p>So by wield, you mean, "make an attack with"?</p><p></p><p>So if wield, then threaten?</p><p>--> if make an attack with, then threaten</p><p></p><p>I understand the relationship to be reversed; threatening a square (and the ranged equivalent) is a prereq to being able to attack, and not vice-versa.</p><p></p><p>-----</p><p></p><p>Re: PC with Longspear and IUS</p><p></p><p>He is wielding two weapons: the longspear and his forehead. The longspear has a 10' reach, his forehead a 5' reach. During his turn, he may attack with either weapon as he threatens with both of them, but if he decides to use both of them in a full-attack action <strong>and</strong> benefits from an extra attack, he suffers TWF penalties.</p><p></p><p>When it is not his turn, he threatens with both weapons - there is no mechanic that states that weapons stop threatening simply because of the existance of other weapons. If an AoO is incurred 10' away, he make take that AoO with his longspear. If, during the same round, an AoO is incurred 5' away, and the PC may still take advantage of it, he may attack with his forehead. He does not incur the TWF penalties because he is not gaining an extra attack per round with that weapon; the opportunity to attack was provided by the AoO, not the ability to fight with two weapons.</p><p></p><p>-----</p><p></p><p>Re: PC holding two weapons</p><p></p><p></p><p>A: Weapon in second hand.</p><p>B: One extra attack per round with that weapon.</p><p>C: Suffer penalties when you fight this way.</p><p></p><p>It is perfectly reasonable to reduce these sentences to:</p><p></p><p>If A, then B.</p><p>If A and B, then C.</p><p></p><p>Meaning that it is possible to wield a second weapon in your off hand, but by not taking an extra attack you do not suffer TWF penalties.</p><p></p><p><u>Example</u></p><p>A character with Quickdraw, a Bow and Arrow, and wielding a longsword has a BAB of +6. He attacks a goblin and kills it with the longsword. He drops the longsword [free action] and draws his bow [free action]. He then attacks at range another goblin.</p><p></p><p>This works within the rules, and it establishes that a PC may use multiple different weapons to attack using the iterative attacks gained from BAB.</p><p></p><p><u>Example</u></p><p>A +6 BAB character with Quickdraw, Power Attack, a Longsword (in hand) and a mace (not in hand) attacks a black pudding. He strikes with the longsword, Power Attacking for 2 and it dissolves. He quickdraws [free action] his mace with his other hand and attacks the black pudding. The mace is penalized -2 from Power Attack, but the damage is likewise increased by 2.</p><p></p><p>There is no handedness in 3.5, so a fighter may attack with either his right or left hand with equal effect <em>as long as neither of them is considered his off-hand</em>. Two-weapon fighting, however, makes it clear that holding two weapons makes it necessary for one of them to be the off-hand weapon.</p><p></p><p><u>Example</u></p><p>A +6 BAB charcter with both a longsword and a mace in his hands attacks a Black Pudding with the longsword (at +6 BAB), and the weapon does not dissolve. He decides he'd rather do bludgeoning damage and he attacks with his mace for the +1 BAB attack. Because he is holding two weapons, he must have chosen which of them was the off-hand weapon. That weapon, and not necessiarly the one he attacks with second, suffers the no-Power Attack, .5 STR damage, etc, penalties.</p><p></p><p>But because he does not benefit from an extra attack during the round, he does not suffer Two-Weapon Fighting penalties. (The rule was "If A and B, then C", and in this case we have "A, but not B", therefore not necessarily C.)</p><p></p><p>-----</p><p></p><p>Those three examples lead me to believe that the Longspear-and-forehead PC must choose which of those weapons is considered his "off-hand" weapon, which will affect the effects of feats and damage, but it <em>will not</em> affect his ability to threaten with both weapons, nor his ability to take AoO's with either weapon, nor his ability to use either weapon for any particular BAB attack (enemies in threatened squares permitting), nor will it incur TWF penalties <em>unless</em> he also gains an extra attack with the off-hand weapon.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Felix, post: 3211190, member: 3929"] So, a longsword and a shield with spikes. Only holding the longsword: he threatens with the longsword, and may take AoO's with it. Only holding the shield: he threatens with the shield, and may take AoO's with it. [u]Option 1[/u] Holding both: he threatens with the sword and the shield, and may take AoO's with either. [u]Option 2[/u] Holding both: the threatens with only the sword, and may only take AoO's with the sword. So you propose that because he is holding a sword, the character may not use his shield? What criteria constitutes threatening? You must be holding it in your hand, check. What else? So by wield, you mean, "make an attack with"? So if wield, then threaten? --> if make an attack with, then threaten I understand the relationship to be reversed; threatening a square (and the ranged equivalent) is a prereq to being able to attack, and not vice-versa. ----- Re: PC with Longspear and IUS He is wielding two weapons: the longspear and his forehead. The longspear has a 10' reach, his forehead a 5' reach. During his turn, he may attack with either weapon as he threatens with both of them, but if he decides to use both of them in a full-attack action [b]and[/b] benefits from an extra attack, he suffers TWF penalties. When it is not his turn, he threatens with both weapons - there is no mechanic that states that weapons stop threatening simply because of the existance of other weapons. If an AoO is incurred 10' away, he make take that AoO with his longspear. If, during the same round, an AoO is incurred 5' away, and the PC may still take advantage of it, he may attack with his forehead. He does not incur the TWF penalties because he is not gaining an extra attack per round with that weapon; the opportunity to attack was provided by the AoO, not the ability to fight with two weapons. ----- Re: PC holding two weapons A: Weapon in second hand. B: One extra attack per round with that weapon. C: Suffer penalties when you fight this way. It is perfectly reasonable to reduce these sentences to: If A, then B. If A and B, then C. Meaning that it is possible to wield a second weapon in your off hand, but by not taking an extra attack you do not suffer TWF penalties. [u]Example[/u] A character with Quickdraw, a Bow and Arrow, and wielding a longsword has a BAB of +6. He attacks a goblin and kills it with the longsword. He drops the longsword [free action] and draws his bow [free action]. He then attacks at range another goblin. This works within the rules, and it establishes that a PC may use multiple different weapons to attack using the iterative attacks gained from BAB. [u]Example[/u] A +6 BAB character with Quickdraw, Power Attack, a Longsword (in hand) and a mace (not in hand) attacks a black pudding. He strikes with the longsword, Power Attacking for 2 and it dissolves. He quickdraws [free action] his mace with his other hand and attacks the black pudding. The mace is penalized -2 from Power Attack, but the damage is likewise increased by 2. There is no handedness in 3.5, so a fighter may attack with either his right or left hand with equal effect [i]as long as neither of them is considered his off-hand[/i]. Two-weapon fighting, however, makes it clear that holding two weapons makes it necessary for one of them to be the off-hand weapon. [u]Example[/u] A +6 BAB charcter with both a longsword and a mace in his hands attacks a Black Pudding with the longsword (at +6 BAB), and the weapon does not dissolve. He decides he'd rather do bludgeoning damage and he attacks with his mace for the +1 BAB attack. Because he is holding two weapons, he must have chosen which of them was the off-hand weapon. That weapon, and not necessiarly the one he attacks with second, suffers the no-Power Attack, .5 STR damage, etc, penalties. But because he does not benefit from an extra attack during the round, he does not suffer Two-Weapon Fighting penalties. (The rule was "If A and B, then C", and in this case we have "A, but not B", therefore not necessarily C.) ----- Those three examples lead me to believe that the Longspear-and-forehead PC must choose which of those weapons is considered his "off-hand" weapon, which will affect the effects of feats and damage, but it [i]will not[/i] affect his ability to threaten with both weapons, nor his ability to take AoO's with either weapon, nor his ability to use either weapon for any particular BAB attack (enemies in threatened squares permitting), nor will it incur TWF penalties [i]unless[/i] he also gains an extra attack with the off-hand weapon. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Improved Unarmed Strike and 2H weapons
Top