Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Improved Unarmed Strike and 2H weapons
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Infiniti2000" data-source="post: 3214633" data-attributes="member: 31734"><p>(I am confused by the multiple examples in response to different people, so I'm restating them for clarification, for myself even if no one else cares or wants to comment.)</p><p></p><p>The following scenario was made in response to this comment by Artoomis: "In that case, your AoO can ONLY be with the weapon you are using. Obviously, if you did not take the off-hand penalties for TWF you do not get the benefits of TWF, and get only take an AoO with the same wepoan you used in your attack."</p><p></p><p>Scenario A: I have two weapons in hand (longsword and dagger) and make a full attack with the longsword (taking no TWF penalties).</p><p></p><p>Based on what Artoomis says, you cannot make an AoO with the dagger because the TWF penalties were not taken. He clarifies it with this, which IcyCool (post #26) and Legildur (post #27) agree: "As far as I am concerned, you either have one weapon you are using or you have two and are taking all associated penalties."</p><p></p><p>From my understanding, the following scenario is no different, which is the same one I presented to Hyp in post #52.</p><p></p><p>Scenario B: No IUS or natural weapons. Attack with longsword only (no penalties, full round action or standard action). Drop longsword (free action). Draw dagger (move action or free action with quickdraw). (To make this even closer to A, keep both weapons in hand and use an action, free or move, to 'wield' the dagger.)</p><p></p><p>IcyCool in post #71 says that I can make an AoO with the dagger and doesn't say anything about the longsword, though by his wording, I'm thinking he doesn't intend that the longsword is wielded. If it were, are there penalties?</p><p></p><p>Hyp, in post #54, says "Certainly [you can make an AoO with the dagger]. But you are now wielding a second weapon in your off-hand, so while making the AoO, you are 'fighting this way', and penalties apply."</p><p></p><p>I'm guessing IcyCool and Hyp are in agreement on Scenario B. Also, I think Legildur and Artoomis agree.</p><p></p><p>Let me restate your interpretation, though, which will (I hope) clarify my response in post #65. I'm not referring to one of the scenarios in this restatement, but please let me know if you agree.</p><p></p><p>You can be both "fighting this way" and NOT "fighting this way" in the same round. You can make a full attack without "fighting this way" (no extra attack) and then (for lack of a better phrase) 'change modes' to be "fighting this way" before your turn is over, and vice versa. No one has implied that you can change modes not on your turn (i.e. not during an AoO).</p><p></p><p>I don't agree. I think you are either "fighting this way" or not, for your whole turn that round, meaning that those penalties always apply. If you take the extra attack, then you are "fighting this way." If not, not. This is defined in the same two-sentence paragraph and I don't agree that you can logical separate the sentences to create a different definition of "fighting this way". There are not multiple valid ways to view this rule IMO.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Infiniti2000, post: 3214633, member: 31734"] (I am confused by the multiple examples in response to different people, so I'm restating them for clarification, for myself even if no one else cares or wants to comment.) The following scenario was made in response to this comment by Artoomis: "In that case, your AoO can ONLY be with the weapon you are using. Obviously, if you did not take the off-hand penalties for TWF you do not get the benefits of TWF, and get only take an AoO with the same wepoan you used in your attack." Scenario A: I have two weapons in hand (longsword and dagger) and make a full attack with the longsword (taking no TWF penalties). Based on what Artoomis says, you cannot make an AoO with the dagger because the TWF penalties were not taken. He clarifies it with this, which IcyCool (post #26) and Legildur (post #27) agree: "As far as I am concerned, you either have one weapon you are using or you have two and are taking all associated penalties." From my understanding, the following scenario is no different, which is the same one I presented to Hyp in post #52. Scenario B: No IUS or natural weapons. Attack with longsword only (no penalties, full round action or standard action). Drop longsword (free action). Draw dagger (move action or free action with quickdraw). (To make this even closer to A, keep both weapons in hand and use an action, free or move, to 'wield' the dagger.) IcyCool in post #71 says that I can make an AoO with the dagger and doesn't say anything about the longsword, though by his wording, I'm thinking he doesn't intend that the longsword is wielded. If it were, are there penalties? Hyp, in post #54, says "Certainly [you can make an AoO with the dagger]. But you are now wielding a second weapon in your off-hand, so while making the AoO, you are 'fighting this way', and penalties apply." I'm guessing IcyCool and Hyp are in agreement on Scenario B. Also, I think Legildur and Artoomis agree. Let me restate your interpretation, though, which will (I hope) clarify my response in post #65. I'm not referring to one of the scenarios in this restatement, but please let me know if you agree. You can be both "fighting this way" and NOT "fighting this way" in the same round. You can make a full attack without "fighting this way" (no extra attack) and then (for lack of a better phrase) 'change modes' to be "fighting this way" before your turn is over, and vice versa. No one has implied that you can change modes not on your turn (i.e. not during an AoO). I don't agree. I think you are either "fighting this way" or not, for your whole turn that round, meaning that those penalties always apply. If you take the extra attack, then you are "fighting this way." If not, not. This is defined in the same two-sentence paragraph and I don't agree that you can logical separate the sentences to create a different definition of "fighting this way". There are not multiple valid ways to view this rule IMO. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Improved Unarmed Strike and 2H weapons
Top