Incorporeal monsters

I ran a shadow against a 2nd level group that wasn't really properly prepared, and they did alright. Granted, they used a number of magic missiles, and cursed the hell out of the thing...

Oh, and from the Hypertext SRD:

In order to see farther from the object it is in and attack normally, the incorporeal creature must emerge. An incorporeal creature inside an object has total cover, but when it attacks a creature outside the object it only has cover, so a creature outside with a readied action could strike at it as it attacks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

MarkB said:
Actually, the FAQ suggests the possibility of readying just such an attack against a creature with natural reach that reaches into your square to grapple or disarm you.

The FAQ is wrong on that count, IMNSHO. It's not unusual.

Wik's quote, though, is quite a relief to me.
 
Last edited:

ThirdWizard said:
The FAQ is wrong on that count, IMNSHO. It's not unusual.

I'm going to violate my natural inclinations and defend the FAQ here. That particular answer is, for a change, explicitly called out as a house rule that violates the letter of the RAW. In addition, it's a very good example of an appropriate situation for a judgment call by the DM when the RAW lead to blatant absurdity. ("You can't attack the ogre because it's 10 feet away." "Wha ... It's grabbing me. What's it grabbing me with, telekinesis?")
 

Christian said:
I'm going to violate my natural inclinations and defend the FAQ here. That particular answer is, for a change, explicitly called out as a house rule that violates the letter of the RAW. In addition, it's a very good example of an appropriate situation for a judgment call by the DM when the RAW lead to blatant absurdity. ("You can't attack the ogre because it's 10 feet away." "Wha ... It's grabbing me. What's it grabbing me with, telekinesis?")

If the ogre wishes to retain a grapple with you, it must move into your Space. It cannot grapple you from 10 feet away and remain grappling with you at the end of the round.

But, I am glad to hear that it's explicitly called out as a House Rule.
 
Last edited:

ThirdWizard said:
If the ogre wishes to retain a grapple with you, it must move into your Space. It cannot grapple you from 10 feet away.

Yes, but before it moves into your space & initiates the grapple, it has to make a touch attack to grab you. So :p

;)
 

Remove ads

Top