Instant metamagic (su):
Once per day, the 7th level incantatrix can use a single metamagic effect of any metamagic feat she knows on a spell without prepering it beforehand (if a wizard) or increasing it's casting time (if a sorcerer or bard). The wizard's prepared spell works as if prepared with the metamagic feat except it uses the same spell slot. A sorcerer or bard's spell is cast without the adjustment to the casting time but works as if cast with the metamagic feat. A 9th level incantatrix can use this power twice per day. (errata) The incantatrix cannot use this ability if the metamagicked spell would normally use a spell slot of a higher level than she could cast. For example, a Wiz5/incantatrix 4 could not use an instant metamagic still spell any of her 5th-level spells because she does not have any spell slots above 5th level.
i'm not sure i understand this. a wizard can cast any spell he's prepared as if he prepared it with a metamagic feat (assuming he could cast a spell that high a level) with no increase in the spell level. for example empowering a magic missle but it still only eats up the magic missle you already memorized as a 1st level spell. right?
and a sorcerer casts any spell he can cast with a metamagic feat without the increased casting time. but does it take up the higher level spell slot? example, i cast an empowered magic missle, it takes only a standard action but does it eat up a 1st or 3rd level spell slot?
maybe lack of sleep is confusing me more than the feat
Once per day, the 7th level incantatrix can use a single metamagic effect of any metamagic feat she knows on a spell without prepering it beforehand (if a wizard) or increasing it's casting time (if a sorcerer or bard). The wizard's prepared spell works as if prepared with the metamagic feat except it uses the same spell slot. A sorcerer or bard's spell is cast without the adjustment to the casting time but works as if cast with the metamagic feat. A 9th level incantatrix can use this power twice per day. (errata) The incantatrix cannot use this ability if the metamagicked spell would normally use a spell slot of a higher level than she could cast. For example, a Wiz5/incantatrix 4 could not use an instant metamagic still spell any of her 5th-level spells because she does not have any spell slots above 5th level.
i'm not sure i understand this. a wizard can cast any spell he's prepared as if he prepared it with a metamagic feat (assuming he could cast a spell that high a level) with no increase in the spell level. for example empowering a magic missle but it still only eats up the magic missle you already memorized as a 1st level spell. right?
and a sorcerer casts any spell he can cast with a metamagic feat without the increased casting time. but does it take up the higher level spell slot? example, i cast an empowered magic missle, it takes only a standard action but does it eat up a 1st or 3rd level spell slot?
maybe lack of sleep is confusing me more than the feat
