Intelligence drops -- spells lost?

aboyd

Explorer
Let's say your Intelligence drops to 5, due to spell effects or monster powers or whatever. And let's say you're a wizard.

Do you lose all your spells for the day?

And if so, what happens if an hour later you reverse the Intelligence loss? Do you regain the spells, or do they stay lost?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Let's say your Intelligence drops to 5, due to spell effects or monster powers or whatever. And let's say you're a wizard.

Do you lose all your spells for the day?

And if so, what happens if an hour later you reverse the Intelligence loss? Do you regain the spells, or do they stay lost?
I'd say you don't lose the spells, you just become temporarily unable to cast them.

For a reasonable ruling, I'd compare it to the effect of negative levels. E.g. maybe you might lose the bonus spells granted by high Int. But I probably wouldn't bother.
 

Yes & no !!

I'd say that you lose your bonus spells and can't cast the others.

If your intelligence returns to normal then in the day, you can cast all your normal spells but must wait for the next day to prepare again your bonus spells.
 

Well the SRD says

To learn, prepare, or cast a spell, the wizard must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell level.


Nothing says you "forget" anything you knew when you suffer an ability score loss. Using the level loss (or negative levels) you take a penalty on skill checks (this could be due to losing potential max rank or an ability score "adjustment"). For ability score loss (or damage) - I would keep the same ranks and apply the new modifier to skill checks. So you still "know" the spell but are unable to "cast it" if you do not have the requisite ability score.
 

Interesting. Especially since it borders on a question I have.
It's similar, but reversed:

Suppose I play a Wizard with an intelligence of 13.
I have reached lvl 17, allowing me to cast and prepare 9th level spells, except I don't get to because I have too low an intelligence.

I borrow an item granting a +6 to intelligence, allowing me to prepare and cast 9th level spells.
I use Heighten spell to prepare one of my spells as a 9th level spell.
Then I return the item, my Intelligence dropping back to 13.

I can no longer cast the spell, but since I have it prepared, I can now use it to fuel my Reserve Feat.....
 

Yes & no !!

I'd say that you lose your bonus spells and can't cast the others.

If your intelligence returns to normal then in the day, you can cast all your normal spells but must wait for the next day to prepare again your bonus spells.
Wildshaping druids with periapts of wisdom are organizing to lobby against this ruling ... ;)
 

Remove ads

Top