is any damage after 'plus' multiplied on a crit?


log in or register to remove this ad

Yes. As long as it isn't extra dice of damage (energy, sneak attack) it is doubled. I believe this includes ability damage and such.

So if you do 1d4+10 damage due to enhancements, strength, etc. If the critical is x2 you do 2d4+20 damage. :)
 

However, if your flaming weapon does 1d4+10 +1d6 fire +4d6 sneak attack, you don't multiply the extra dice that you'd get for the fire and sneak attack; a x2 critical in this case would do 2d4 +20 +1d6 fire +4d6 sneak attack.
 

I read (I think) somewhere that a crit on an attack with an energy drain doubles the levels drained. What other effects are doubled like that?
 

Dracuwulf said:
I read (I think) somewhere that a crit on an attack with an energy drain doubles the levels drained. What other effects are doubled like that?

Hit point damage, ability damage, and negative levels.

-Hyp.
 

The rule, as stated by PC, above, is clear from 3.0.

But have you noticed? They changed the wording in 3.5. The wording is now very ambiguous, whereas previously it was clear.

Does anyone have an idea why?

best,

Carpe
 

Carpe DM said:
But have you noticed? They changed the wording in 3.5. The wording is now very ambiguous, whereas previously it was clear.

Does anyone have an idea why?

Yeah - it's a typo. They accidentally left out the word 'dice' in one place in the rules.

You'll still find it expressed correctly in a couple of other places. But it's a very unfortunately-placed typo, that leads to lots of confusion.

-Hyp.
 

Carpe DM said:
But have you noticed? They changed the wording in 3.5. The wording is now very ambiguous, whereas previously it was clear.

Wording changed in 3.5 to become more ambiguous?

No way! The whole point of 3.5, as advertised, was to clean and clarify the rules. That's impossible!

:eek:
 

Remove ads

Top