Is this legal? (Shrewsconners stay out)

Reynard

aka Ian Eller
So, I am playing a 10th level druid in an arena combat game in a few weeks. I have nat spell, and have created a list of my most likely wildshapes and summoned critters. Reading the erratta on wildshape, etc... I discovered that my type will remain humanoid(human). I also happen to notice that one of the Nature's Ally's I can summon has an ability to cast enlarge person.

If I wildshape into a large animal, since I am stull a "person" by type, can the Janni enlarge me to Huge while in wildshape?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yes, I think it would work by RAW.

Balance wise, my spider sense is tingling. But given the reduction in power of wild shape that the new version caused, this unintentional increase in power might be okay.
 

I'd say yes, its hard to have it both ways. Either you are an animal and can animal growth yourself or you are a humanoid and can enlarge yourself.

Though you could knock it out with the line "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack" from enlarge person, saying that wildshape is a magical effect that increases your size.
 

DarkJester said:
Though you could knock it out with the line "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack" from enlarge person, saying that wildshape is a magical effect that increases your size.

Although, it really doesn't increase your size. by the rules, it doesn't matter if you are small, medium or large -- when you get the ability to wildshape into a large animal, that's exactly what it says, "a large animal" not "an animal one size category larger than your character". So, when wildshaped intoa dire lion, frex, I am a Large Humanoid type and apparently able to use Enlarge Person:

SRD said:
This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature, doubling its height and multiplying its weight by 8. This increase changes the creature’s size category to the next larger one.
 

Deep into house rules territory here, but in my game you can't stack shapeshifting effects together, and I treat enlarging spells as shapeshifting effects.

It saves a lot of silliness with bite of the werebear, etc., too.
 

Rule-wise, yeah, it's up to the DM. Very unusual scenario, and one I've never been in. But, if I were DM, I'd say "Heck No". Wild Shape (Huge) is a class feature for a level 15th Druid - why let a level 10 character use it in their own roundabout way? In terms of balance and rules, this could be debated forever. In terms of fairness, the answer is most likely no. It takes a while to reach level 15 in ANY class, I say let those that persist enjoy their spoils. (Plus, enlarging yourself in wild shape by any means would leave the possibility of a Gargantuan Animal [or Elemental] at higher levels, something that's just too powerful and game-disrupting to be in the hand of a 15th level character, IMHO.)
 


Wild Shape (Huge) is a class feature for a level 15th Druid - why let a level 10 character use it in their own roundabout way?
The benefits of enlarge person are way less than the bump in power when you can choose Huge animals as your base form.
 

Mistwell said:
Yes, I think it would work by RAW.

Balance wise, my spider sense is tingling. But given the reduction in power of wild shape that the new version caused, this unintentional increase in power might be okay.

which reduction in power exactly? i suppose i have not kept up with the most current errata, because it still seems like a super-powerful ability to me.
 

Remove ads

Top