Item Pricing with Alternate Spellcasting Rules

Kaledor

First Post
My group is using the Alternate Metamagic Rules presented in Unearthed Arcana. They are treated as spontaneous effects that can only be applied three times a day (p152). However, they do not take up spell slots of higher level. So an Empowered Magic Missile is still a first level spell, you can only use it three times a day though.

So, here's the question.
In making a magic item under the normal rules you can apply a metamagic feat to the spell during the creation. It will increase the spell level and also the caster level, thus making the item more expensive.

BUT.
What if you're using the alternate rule presented above from UA? Since the spell does not change level and neither does the caster it would seem that the price of an Empowered Magic Missile scroll is the same as the price of a regular Magic Missile scroll...

Does anybody see it differently?
Is anybody else using this alternate rule and run into this problem?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't use those rules (or have them in front of me). However, I would recommend that you keep effective increased level and market price (plus xp, time to create, etc.) the same as in the core rules. The effects are clearly more powerful, and therefore need to be priced higher -- and that's just what the core rules have done.

Either that, or you need to prohibit adding metamagic effects into magic items.
 

You are still limited by the level ceiling for metamagic spells with the UA option, so you can't maximize a magic missile at 1st level (you need to be able to cast the resulting spell level, even if you don't spend it directly).

So, I would price them as if they were modified by the metamagic per the normal magic system.

Metamagic and item creation is somewhat tricky, as there is no guideline for it specificly
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top