Jumping Distance vs. Movement in a round

Magic Slim

First Post
Probably has been covered, but I want to make sure.

Say we have a character that can jump great distances. He has magic items that help his jump skill, all the while leaving his basic speed the same.

Said character can move once for X feet, take a double move for 2X feet, or run (assuming no special feat or encumbrance) 4X feet.

Let's say J = character's jumping distance + any movement taken before the jump.

If J =< X, the character can take a standard action after his move.

If X < J =< 2X, the character may not take an additional action, but may continue his move until 2X feet.

If J > 2X, does the character's jump end at his following initiative count? Or does this only happen if J > 4X (ie when his jump distance exceeds his maximum running distance in a round)?

Thanks in advance

Slim
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If J > 2X, does the character's jump end at his following initiative count? Or does this only happen if J > 4X (ie when his jump distance exceeds his maximum running distance in a round)?
Depends. You can jump while running. In this case, you can jump up to x4 your speed as long as you are not in heavy armor or carrying a heavy load. But if you wanted to take a standard action after your jump, you are restricted to your speed.
 


From the FAQ

When you jump farther than you’re allowed to move, you
can just jump a shorter distance, or you can just finish your turn
in midair and finish your jump on the next turn. There’s no rule
that says your jumping distance is limited by your speed. There
is a rule that says any jump counts against your move for the
turn. (In this case, you’re using your Jump check to determine
how much distance you can cover in a single jump, and then
spending as much movement as necessary to complete the
jump.)
If you finish a turn in midair, your next action must be a
move action to finish or continue the jump. Note that you make
only one check for the jump.
 
Last edited:

Slander said:
From the FAQ

When you jump farther than you’re allowed to move, you
can just jump a shorter distance, or you can just finish your turn
in midair and finish your jump on the next turn. There’s no rule
that says your jumping distance is limited by your speed. There
is a rule that says any jump counts against your move for the
turn. (In this case, you’re using your Jump check to determine
how much distance you can cover in a single jump, and then
spending as much movement as necessary to complete the
jump.)
If you finish a turn in midair, your next action must be a
move action to finish or continue the jump. Note that you make
only one check for the jump.

So if I have shot on the run, can I move (+jump) -attack (throw knife)- move (continue with my jump), and next round end my jump?
 

I think you can't exceed your running distance with a running jump, except when resorting to silly OA acrobatics class features or multiple self-made stacking jump-bonus items.

Bye
Thanee
 


Thanee said:
I think you can't exceed your running distance with a running jump, except when resorting to silly OA acrobatics class features or multiple self-made stacking jump-bonus items.
You can also use the psionic feat Mental Leap to double your jumping distance and the extra distance does not count against you movement.
green slime said:
So if I have shot on the run, can I move (+jump) -attack (throw knife)- move (continue with my jump), and next round end my jump?
I don't see why not but you could only move including jump distance up to your normal movement in the round you used Shot on the Run.
 

Remove ads

Top