Knock spell and Greater Glyph of Warding

Kreln

First Post
Had something come up last weekend that I would like clarification on.

Wizard PC cast knock on a chest containing a Greater Glyph of Warding (Slay Living) cast upon it. I wasn't sure how to handle the situation, so I ruled that the PC would have a 1% chance of being affected by the glyph. Of course the PC, who I allowed to roll his own fate, rolled a 01 and was affected by the Glyph. PC failed save and was killed.

How does this type of spell work when a ranged spell is cast on the object it's protecting?

Thanks,

Kreln
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The spell description states that it "cannot be affected or bypassed by such means as physical or magical probing." So anyone opening the chest would be zapped, even if they used a ten-foot pole or a telekinesis spell to do it.

Since knock doesn't actually open an object-- only unlocks it-- one could argue that the glyph should not have gone off at that point. But it's also quite reasonable that the magical interference would set it off. I think your solution was more than fair.

And BTW, welcome to the boards.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top