Large creatures attack

Okay, thanks for the very specific information.

As to how he got 2 people inside the Behir, he said it was because of the creatures size.
...It specifically says the power doesn't recharge until the monster isn't grabbing someone. So... yeah, that is wrong in a number of ways.
Taking this in a little bit differnt direction, how would it affect the Line of Effect if the creature attacking was small, medium, or just large and not Huge?

Also, the Behir got 3 initiative positions in each round. Is that considered a complete turn after each attack, or does it have to cycle all the way through attack A, B, C, and then back to A before its considered a complete round and turn?

I've got an Avenger with the Radiant Servant PP, and I dropped my action point and assigned the Behir the 12 radiant damage at the start of his turn - the DM ruled that he would only take that at attack A - not after A, B, and C.

Thanks all.
Same deal. If any square they can attack through has an ally (or a pillar, or a xyz) it provides cover. Other enemies don't provide cover (just like your allies don't provide cover to enemies).

Copy/paste

The behir acts three times in a round, on initiative counts 30, 20, and 10. It cannot delay or ready actions. On each turn, it has a standard action instead of the normal allotment of actions. It can use one immediate action between each pair of turns.

The Behir takes the 12 damage each time. It is (Save Ends) though, so the Behir also gets to save against it at the end of each turn (3 saves/round).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Nope, and it was only after we looked up the Behir after the session that we realized he wasn't using any minors to sustain (at least, he never said it out loud).

Quick question - should the DM be required to say sustain minor on what he's controlling, just like the players?
I checked, it doesn't actually need minors to sustain, it CAN use them to deal the damage, but if it doesn't the Grab still persists until broken.

But yeah, as pointed out, it recharges only when no-one is grabbed.
Allowing them to grab 2 is a reasonable modification if the encounter would otherwise be overly easy

EDIT: an idiot is me. While the grab doesn't specify "until end of turn", it's a grab, and that's how grabs ALWAYS work.
 
Last edited:

I checked, it doesn't actually need minors to sustain, it CAN use them to deal the damage, but if it doesn't the Grab still persists until broken.

But yeah, as pointed out, it recharges only when no-one is grabbed.
Allowing them to grab 2 is a reasonable modification if the encounter would otherwise be overly easy

Er...I'm a bit confused now... I took this line:

"Sustain Minor: The behir sustains the grab, and the target takes 15 damage."

to mean that the Behir did have to sustain minor to keep the grab...if it didn't the
player is freed...

Well, there were 2 Behirs, and 3/4 members of our 7 man party spent a considerable time
"devoured"... The encounter lasted approximately 3 hours.
 

I checked, it doesn't actually need minors to sustain, it CAN use them to deal the damage, but if it doesn't the Grab still persists until broken.

But yeah, as pointed out, it recharges only when no-one is grabbed.
Allowing them to grab 2 is a reasonable modification if the encounter would otherwise be overly easy
"Swallow" is a grab effect, grabs have a sustain minor, and the actual powers says you have to sustain it as a minor.
 

No idea what I was thinking, forgot the rules for grab for a second, noticed there was no "until end of turn" but forgot that grab includes that unless stated otherwise.

*slaps self on head*
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top