Latest FAQ update

shilsen

Adventurer
I thought somene would already have posted on the latest update (available here), but it seems nobody has. So here are some of the salient additions:

1) Info on mithral and adamantine shields. The latter have the same extra cost as light armor and provide no DR.

2) Info on armor spikes. Mya be used as a light off-hand weapon even when using a shield or using a two-handed weapon.

3) Ammunition made from special materials breaks as normal ammunition does.

4) DR which is bypassed by magic weapons or alignment is Su. Other DR is Ex.

5) Flying creatures cannot fly when carrying a medium or heavy load. They can fly with medium or heavy armor as long as it is a light load and their lowered fly speed can achieve minimum forward speed.

6) A really weird answer on Ride-By Attack which seems to miss the question and indicate that it is impossible to pull off.

7) Gaze attacks affect the gazer's allies too.

8) Info about ghosts, their Str scores and interaction with material and ethereal objects.

Discuss. Especially 2 :eek:
 

log in or register to remove this ad

shilsen said:
Discuss. Especially 2 :eek:

Yeah - that was the only one I was going to bother posting.

With a "Dear god, no!" footnote.

6) A really weird answer on Ride-By Attack which seems to miss the question and indicate that it is impossible to pull off.

Actually, I think what he said makes a very sensible and reasonable house rule, and I'd like to see it added to the errata.

When you charge someone, you must move directly to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent.

When you Ride-By, under the FAQ ruling, you must move directly to the closest space from which a/ you can attack the opponent, and b/ you can continue moving in a straight line.

Code:
[color=#dddddd] ---------
 |.......|
 |...[color=lime]2[/color]...[color=brown]+[/color]#######
 |[color=#dd6060]d[/color]..[color=lime]1[/color][color=#999999]o[/color]..|
 |...[color=lime]2[/color]...|
 |.......|
 ---------
[/color]

If I'm on my riding dog, and I charge the goblin, I must charge to space 1 - directly at the opponent, the closest space from which I can attack.

If I Ride-By Attack charge the goblin, I can't charge to space 1; there's no room to continue the line of the charge. I must therefore charge to one of the squares marked "2" - the closest spaces from which I can attack, and continue moving after the attack.

It's not what the book says, but it's a good solution, and I'll adopt it as a house rule, and hope they put it into errata.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
Yeah - that was the only one I was going to bother posting.

With a "Dear god, no!" footnote.

Join the club :)

Actually, I think what he said makes a very sensible and reasonable house rule, and I'd like to see it added to the errata.

When you charge someone, you must move directly to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent.

When you Ride-By, under the FAQ ruling, you must move directly to the closest space from which a/ you can attack the opponent, and b/ you can continue moving in a straight line.

...

It's not what the book says, but it's a good solution, and I'll adopt it as a house rule, and hope they put it into errata.

-Hyp.

You're right. I wasn't reading carefully enough :o I agree about the solution. Esp. since that's what I've been using in my game ;)
 

I disagree with this interpretation of ride by attack.

I think you can use ride by attack to charge the goblin, then move through his space (i.e. trample) and keep on moving in a straight line.

I think they did something similar to this in the Sword and Fist example.
 
Last edited:

Endur said:
I think you can use ride by attack to charge the goblin, then move through his space (i.e. trample) and keep on moving in a straight line.

Not in 3.5.

Ride-By Attack requires you to be mounted and using the Charge action.

Trample requires that you are mounted and Overrun your opponent.

The 3.5 PHB Errata states that you cannot Overrun as part of a Charge.

Therefore you can never use Ride-By Attack and Trample in the same maneuver, since one requires a Charge, and the other prohibits a Charge.

-Hyp.
 

I didn't like his answer regarding armor spikes in a grapple. According to him, armor spike damage replaces your normal grapple damage.

According to the PHB, armor spikes give you additional damage, on top of your normal grapple damage.
 

Yet another case where the errata makes the rules worse.

Hypersmurf said:
The 3.5 PHB Errata states that you cannot Overrun as part of a Charge.

Therefore you can never use Ride-By Attack and Trample in the same maneuver, since one requires a Charge, and the other prohibits a Charge.

-Hyp.
 

I disagree. I love the errata for rules clarifications and corrections. Some people don't like it, but most people I've spoken with do. It's usually the people who have tailored a specific (possibly overpowered) tactic to their character and find it doesn't work they way they thought that get all pissy.
 
Last edited:

Ogrork the Mighty said:
I disagree. I love the errata for rules clarifications and corrections. Some people don't like it, but most people I've spoken with do. It's usually the people who have tailored a specific (possibly overpowered) tactic to their character and find it doesn't work they way they thought that get all pissy.
If it was actually errata that would be one thing. But he doesn't say that this a rule change, it's just an off-hand comment that is buried in an answer for another question.

If he's changing the rule, he should say so. Because this just looks like he didn't check his sources before answering.
 

Welcome to the dark side, Caliban. ;)

(Disclaimer: The Sage gets his answers right at least 90% of the time. It's just that on the non-trivial truly-needing-clarification issues he persists in shooting from the hip without checking sources, leading to a number of exasperating contradictions.)
 

Remove ads

Top