Level 9 Spell Gate

Alucard S

First Post
I wonder if the spell Gate can be cast horizontaly on someones position to make that person fall into the other plane? If it is possible, is there a safe for using it in that way?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

looks like horizontal is an option.

A pit trap might be the mechanic that fits for that use for a gate. On the other hand I thought there were general rules about conjuring stuff into critters squares or solid objects[like the ground beneath thier squares].

Gate
Conjuration (Creation or Calling)
Level: Clr 9, Sor/Wiz 9
Components: V, S, XP; see text
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect: See text
Duration: Instantaneous or concentration (up to 1 round/level); see text
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: No

Casting a gate spell has two effects. First, it creates an interdimensional connection between your plane of existence and a plane you specify, allowing travel between those two planes in either direction.

Second, you may then call a particular individual or kind of being through the gate.

The gate itself is a circular hoop or disk from 5 to 20 feet in diameter (caster’s choice), oriented in the direction you desire when it comes into existence (typically vertical and facing you). It is a two-dimensional window looking into the plane you specified when casting the spell, and anyone or anything that moves through is shunted instantly to the other side.

A gate has a front and a back. Creatures moving through the gate from the front are transported to the other plane; creatures moving through it from the back are not.

Planar Travel
As a mode of planar travel, a gate spell functions much like a plane shift spell, except that the gate opens precisely at the point you desire (a creation effect). Deities and other beings who rule a planar realm can prevent a gate from opening in their presence or personal demesnes if they so desire. Travelers need not join hands with you—anyone who chooses to step through the portal is transported. A gate cannot be opened to another point on the same plane; the spell works only for interplanar travel.

You may hold the gate open only for a brief time (no more than 1 round per caster level), and you must concentrate on doing so, or else the interplanar connection is severed.

Calling Creatures
The second effect of the gate spell is to call an extraplanar creature to your aid (a calling effect). By naming a particular being or kind of being as you cast the spell, you cause the gate to open in the immediate vicinity of the desired creature and pull the subject through, willing or unwilling. Deities and unique beings are under no compulsion to come through the gate, although they may choose to do so of their own accord. This use of the spell creates a gate that remains open just long enough to transport the called creatures. This use of the spell has an XP cost (see below).

If you choose to call a kind of creature instead of a known individual you may call either a single creature (of any HD) or several creatures. You can call and control several creatures as long as their HD total does not exceed your caster level. In the case of a single creature, you can control it if its HD do not exceed twice your caster level. A single creature with more HD than twice your caster level can’t be controlled. Deities and unique beings cannot be controlled in any event. An uncontrolled being acts as it pleases, making the calling of such creatures rather dangerous. An uncontrolled being may return to its home plane at any time.

A controlled creature can be commanded to perform a service for you. Such services fall into two categories: immediate tasks and contractual service. Fighting for you in a single battle or taking any other actions that can be accomplished within 1 round per caster level counts as an immediate task; you need not make any agreement or pay any reward for the creature’s help. The creature departs at the end of the spell.

If you choose to exact a longer or more involved form of service from a called creature, you must offer some fair trade in return for that service. The service exacted must be reasonable with respect to the promised favor or reward; see the lesser planar ally spell for appropriate rewards. (Some creatures may want their payment in “livestock” rather than in coin, which could involve complications.) Immediately upon completion of the service, the being is transported to your vicinity, and you must then and there turn over the promised reward. After this is done, the creature is instantly freed to return to its own plane.

Failure to fulfill the promise to the letter results in your being subjected to service by the creature or by its liege and master, at the very least. At worst, the creature or its kin may attack you.

Note: When you use a calling spell such as gate to call an air, chaotic, earth, evil, fire, good, lawful, or water creature, it becomes a spell of that type.

XP Cost
1,000 XP (only for the calling creatures function).
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Conjuration
Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or some form of energy to you (the summoning subschool), actually transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling), heal (healing), transport creatures or objects over great distances (teleportation), or create objects or effects on the spot (creation). Creatures you conjure usually, but not always, obey your commands.

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

The creature or object must appear within the spell’s range, but it does not have to remain within the range.

Calling
A calling spell transports a creature from another plane to the plane you are on. The spell grants the creature the one-time ability to return to its plane of origin, although the spell may limit the circumstances under which this is possible. Creatures who are called actually die when they are killed; they do not disappear and reform, as do those brought by a summoning spell (see below). The duration of a calling spell is instantaneous, which means that the called creature can’t be dispelled.

Creation
A creation spell manipulates matter to create an object or creature in the place the spellcaster designates (subject to the limits noted above). If the spell has a duration other than instantaneous, magic holds the creation together, and when the spell ends, the conjured creature or object vanishes without a trace. If the spell has an instantaneous duration, the created object or creature is merely assembled through magic. It lasts indefinitely and does not depend on magic for its existence.

It looks legal if there is a bit of space beneath your victims feet and above the ground, like while jumping, climbing etc...
 
Last edited:

This could be pretty nifty as a lid on a pit. :] you fall through "backwards" then the only way out is through the gate. I like it. Thanks :D
 

You can definitely make the Gate horizontal , but I'm not sure about using it as automatic trap. I'd probably either disallow it to apprear in someone's spare, or at least grant a Reflex save to avoid falling into it.
 

frankthedm said:
It looks legal if there is a bit of space beneath your victims feet and above the ground, like while jumping, climbing etc...
Is a Gate a Creature or Object, or is it just a spell effect (like a line of lightning)? If it's a Creature or Object, the limitation applies, and there must be a gap; if it's just a spell effect, that line doesn't apply, and you merely need line of effect to where you want it to show up.

Li Shenron said:
You can definitely make the Gate horizontal , but I'm not sure about using it as automatic trap. I'd probably either disallow it to apprear in someone's spare, or at least grant a Reflex save to avoid falling into it.
Standard reflex save? That could get pretty bad; it is a 9th level spell, after all.....

Save Vs. Reflex or get sent to the Positive Energy Plane....
 

Jack Simth said:
Is a Gate a Creature or Object, or is it just a spell effect (like a line of lightning)? If it's a Creature or Object, the limitation applies, and there must be a gap; if it's just a spell effect, that line doesn't apply, and you merely need line of effect to where you want it to show up.
Gate is a creation spell unless cast as a calling spell that has a gate that remains open just long enough to transport the called creatures.This use of the spell has an XP cost (see below).
 


Depends on where you send them. What happens to a fighter, say, if he's unexpectedly transported to, say....

SRD said:
POSITIVE ENERGY PLANE

The Positive Energy Plane has no surface and is akin to the Elemental Plane of Air with its wide-open nature. However, every bit of this plane glows brightly with innate power. This power is dangerous to mortal forms, which are not made to handle it.

Despite the beneficial effects of the plane, it is one of the most hostile of the Inner Planes. An unprotected character on this plane swells with power as positive energy is force-fed into her. Then, her mortal frame unable to contain that power, she immolates as if she were a small planet caught at the edge of a supernova. Visits to the Positive Energy Plane are brief, and even then travelers must be heavily protected.

And nobody knows where he's gone?
 

Jack Simth said:
Depends on where you send them. What happens to a fighter, say, if he's unexpectedly transported to, say....



And nobody knows where he's gone?
Probably the point where the Diviner is happy he learned Discern Location?
And the Fighter is glad that he listend to the Bard's tales of the posive plane visitors and keeps beating himself to avoid getting "overhealed" :)
 

So the Negative Energy Plane. Or the Plane of Fire. Or the Plane of Water. Or one of the levels of the Abyss. Or to the home plane of a diety known to be a bit ticked off at him. There's lots of very hostile places to send someone. Meanwhile, they're out of the fight, and those people they were depending on for rescue might not be fairing so well.....
 

Remove ads

Top