Lion's Charge - too powerful?

SteelDraco

First Post
While reading over Savage Species, I noticed the following spell. Is it just me, or is this really powerful?

Lion's Charge
Transmutation
Level: Drd 1, Sor/Wiz 2
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Touch
Target: Creature touched
Duration: 1 minute/level
Saving Throw: Will negates (harmless)
Spell Resistance: Yes (harmless)

You provide the subject with the powerful charging ability of the lion. When the subject charges, he can make a full attack in the same round.

Material Component: A hair from a lion's mane.

This is pretty close to a spell I submitted to my DM at 3rd level druid. I like the idea here, but it seems too low a level for the effect.

At such low levels, it will usually be only one off-hand attack, but once you get to higher levels, this becomes incredibly powerful. It's also really nice for animal companions, who often have a nasty claw/claw/bite routine. Yeah, there's the -2 penalty to AC, and the straight-line requirement of a charge, but a chance at a full attack at +2 attack is still a very nice thing to get with suck a low level spell.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SteelDraco said:
Yeah, there's the -2 penalty to AC, and the straight-line requirement of a charge, but a chance at a full attack at +2 attack is still a very nice thing to get with suck a low level spell.

I think your interpretaion is wrong here. The subject of the spell does a charge, and then gets a full attack action. THe subject does not take a full attack action with the charge.

Basically it's a variant of the Haste spell.
 


What's really mean is having Haste and Lion's charge on you. Use the partial action to do a partial charge and do a full attack action. Then you can do it again! All of this in 1 round...:D
 

I think your interpretaion is wrong here. The subject of the spell does a charge, and then gets a full attack action. THe subject does not take a full attack action with the charge.
That's even worse. I read it as an improved version of the Pounce ability - you can do a full attack at the end of a charge, rather than the one attack you'd normally get.

If you can charge, get that attack, and THEN do a full attack, it's essentially giving you an extra full-round action.
 

SteelDraco said:

That's even worse. I read it as an improved version of the Pounce ability - you can do a full attack at the end of a charge, rather than the one attack you'd normally get.

If you can charge, get that attack, and THEN do a full attack, it's essentially giving you an extra full-round action.

Actually extra standard action since that's what a charge is. It's like haste except longer duration but no AC bonus and no flexibility in how the extra action is used.
 

Re: Re: Lion's Charge - too powerful?

Crothian said:
I think your interpretaion is wrong here. The subject of the spell does a charge, and then gets a full attack action. THe subject does not take a full attack action with the charge.
I think your interpretation is wrong here.

Since the few words that are in the spell specifically refer to the lion's ability, I think it's safe to conclude that you could do just what a lion could do at the end of a charge.

But my interpretation could be wrong. ;)
That's what Wizard's responsibility is - to clarify simply their rules they expect people to purchase.
 


The spell is pretty specific in that it works with a charge. You charge, your first attack is at +2 (because of the charge), your remaining attack are at your normal itterative bonuses. I actually use this spell with my druid who wears Rhino hide. Only the first blow gets the x2 damage or other benefits of the charge, though you're -2 AC for the round.

The spell does not mention partial charge, and should not allow additional attacks during a partial charge.
 
Last edited:

Don't know if this applies here but I asked the same question earlier...

Re: Pounce Question?

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Aluvial
Can a creature pounce more than once in a combat if it is against different opponents?

Furthermore, can you only pounce during the first round of combat? Is that right?

I'm talking about a Griffon here...

Aluvial
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pounce now works whenever the creature Charges, not only on the first round of combat (updated in MMII).

From the WotC boards:

"Skip Williams has indicated that he considers this change "semi-official errata" that should probably be retroactively applied to all previous creatures with the pounce ability."


Hope this helps out a little here too.... The creatures I looked up in the MMII seem to get the bonus for all of their attacks, but I may be wrong on what there base was to start with...

Aluvial
 

Remove ads

Top