longspear set vs. charge & AoO?

Daalbar

First Post
I brought this up on another thread, but didn't want to hijack...

Imagine a PC who uses a longspear. He comes upon an enemy 50 feet away who see him at the same moment so instead of trying to close he (anticipating immediate attack) reserves his action to set his spear if charged. His foe obliges and charges him. In response his reserve action comes into play and he sets his spear to recieve the charge of the attacker.

By my reading of the rules, the PC wielding the longspear will get his double damage attack once his attacker comes into weapon range at 10', and if the opponent survives and continues the charge he will also draw an attack of opportunity as he moves out of the threatened 10' square into the 5' square.

Is this correct?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Blackivarr said:
Only if the player with the longspear can threatens the 5' in front of him with a reach weapon.

-Blackivarr

No. The AoO occurs before the movement happens, so the moment he moves just that fraction of a foot from 10 ft to 5 ft, he generates the AoO. For all intents and purposes, he's still at 10 ft and so the spear can be used to make an AoO.

Pinotage
 




Yeah, the readied attack deals double damage; the AoO deals normal damage. Note that if you have Hold the Line, you get another AoO. This makes me want to play a spear-wielding fighter.... I have a couple of custom feats for spears too, including one called Always Ready that treats all attacks on foes charging you as if you had set your spear. *ponders next character*
 

Remove ads

Top