Looking For Help Regarding Loremaster's Lore ability

Vrecknidj

Explorer
Neither the 3.0 nor the 3.5 DMG states that the Loremaster's Lore ability adds only the Loremaster's level. The text specifically says to add your level to your Int modifier to determine if you know what you're seeking. The ability does, however, reference the Bard's similar ability. In the PHB, the description of the ability for the Bard specifically does say that Lore only adds the Bard class levels (which makes sense to me).

So, does the Loremaster add his class level to his roll, or his character level to his roll?

Dave
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Its almost always class level, unless character level makes sense.

So, I'd say class level in this case. Although if you have Loremaster Lore and Bardic Lore, I would let the levels stack instead of making two dice rolls.
 

Thanks for the reply. But, it gets at the heart of my dilemma. Since the DMG doesn't specifically say that the bonus is equal to the Loremaster level, and since the prerequisites for the Loremaster class really do presuppose that the individual character in question has a fairly expansive knowledge base, it could be argued that the text in the DMG is supposed to be taken literally (i.e. character level).

I was hoping someone else had come across this and gotten a somewhat official ruling on it.

Dave
 

Vrecknidj said:
Thanks for the reply. But, it gets at the heart of my dilemma. Since the DMG doesn't specifically say that the bonus is equal to the Loremaster level, and since the prerequisites for the Loremaster class really do presuppose that the individual character in question has a fairly expansive knowledge base, it could be argued that the text in the DMG is supposed to be taken literally (i.e. character level).

I was hoping someone else had come across this and gotten a somewhat official ruling on it.

Dave

The official ruling is that when a class (or spell for a class, or anything else) talks about "level" or "class level" it means "level in THIS CLASS". If it means "all your levels added together", then it specifically talks about "character level".
 

"The official ruling is that when a class (or spell for a class, or anything else) talks about 'level' or 'class level' it means 'level in THIS CLASS'. If it means 'all your levels added together', then it specifically talks about 'character level'."

I can accept that. Is this one of those things hidden in some tucked-away spot in the DMG or PHB?

Dave
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top