D&D 5E Looting dead PCs

I noticed recently that a transmuter's 6th level stone ceases to function when he creates a new stone, but it does not cease to function when he dies.

Interesting, no?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I noticed recently that a transmuter's 6th level stone ceases to function when he creates a new stone, but it does not cease to function when he dies.

Interesting, no?

"Rest in peace, gentle transmuter. DIBS ON HIS STONES!"

Wait, that didn't come out right.
 

Not sure what the intent is, but I'd rule that the stone is somehow tied back to the Transmuter and it fades to black when he does.
 

I'd have it persist on as a permanent magic item. Because why not? It's going to be a constant reminder of a fallen comrade. That's story gold!

Bonus points for haunting it.
 


Isn't the Transmuter the only one able to use it?

If not, I don't see a problem leaving it active, seems to fall in line with the way the magic was created, like he infused magic permanently into it.

Beyond that, I typically don't like letting players loot fallen comrades.
 

Isn't the Transmuter the only one able to use it?

If not, I don't see a problem leaving it active, seems to fall in line with the way the magic was created, like he infused magic permanently into it.

Beyond that, I typically don't like letting players loot fallen comrades.

Apparently not.
You can benefit from the stone yourself or give it to another creature. A creature gains a benefit of your choice as long as the stone is in the creature's possession. When you create the stone, choose a benefit from the following options.
...
If you create a new transmuter's stone, the previous one ceases to function.

Not sure if Rules as Intended, but amusing.
 


Considering the act of him creating a second one cancels the first, I'd say the magic is somehow tied to the caster. If the caster dies, the magic goes with it.
 


Remove ads

Top