Lycanthropes and Equipment

haakon1

Legend
When a lycanthrope transforms, what happens to its equipment?

I know it can still use weapons in hybrid form, but can it still get the benefit of armor? Is the armor and other equipment visible (and takeable-outable), or does it blend into their hide somehow?

Does natural armor stack with regular armor, if they are allowed armor in hybrid form?

What about in full animal form? Does their equipment "disappear" into their bodies, or do they shed it/shred it "Incredible Hulk" style -- and is usually shown in movies. If it does "disappear" into their body, do they still get the benefit of armor? And can they take out other gear?

I'm a bit confused about this and don't have my books with me. :(
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Most of the times that I see lycanthrope, they have special armor that works both in human form and hybrid, or they wear armor for hybrid form and just expect to shift when entering combat(and thus the armor fits correctly). Given this doesn't work as well when the hybrid form is a different size category.

In any form, if the lycanthrope has armor on it stacks with natural armor. This is because they are different bonuses to armor class.

I do not believe that the gear melds, but I cannot find rules supporting that.
 

When Alternate Form was removed from any link with Polymorph, the errata added this line to the end of the ability:

Errata said:
Any gear worn or carried by the creature that can't be worn or carried in its new form instead falls to the ground in its space. If the creature changes size, any gear it wears or carries that can be worn or carried in its new form changes size to match the new size. (Nonhumanoid-shaped creatures can't wear armor designed for humanoid-shaped creatures, and vice-versa.) Gear returns to normal size if dropped.

So, in hybrid form, the lycanthrope will keep all of its equipment (since it is still humanoid), but the equipment will fall to the ground in the same space when shifting to animal form.
 

Rath the Brown said:
So, in hybrid form, the lycanthrope will keep all of its equipment (since it is still humanoid), but the equipment will fall to the ground in the same space when shifting to animal form.

Thank guys, this works for me. :cool:
 

for lycanthropes, unlike say polymorphing, what happens to the gear depends on what size the form your changing into is.
SRD said:
Changing Form
Changing form is a standard action. If the change is involuntary, the character performs the change on his next turn following the triggering event. Changing to animal or hybrid form ruins the character’s armor and clothing (including any items worn) if the new form is larger than the character’s natural form; carried items are simply dropped. Characters can hastily doff clothing while changing, but not armor. Magic armor survives the change if it succeeds on a DC 15 Fortitude save. An afflicted character who is not aware of his condition remains in animal form until the next dawn. An afflicted character who is aware of his or her condition (see above) can try to resume humanoid form following a change (voluntary or involuntary) with a Control Shape check, but if he fails his check, he remains in animal (or hybrid) form until the following dawn.
 

Don't forget that in the MIC it states that magic armor does not resize to fit its wearer. Meaning a medium sized set of armor does not resize to fit a small sized wearer.
 

Voldrath said:
for lycanthropes, unlike say polymorphing, what happens to the gear depends on what size the form your changing into is.

I'm sorry that I didn't post all of the errata. The errata for the Monster Manual (here) specifically states to delete the sentences you highlighted. The errata I did post indicates what happens to a creature's equipment when it uses the Alternate Form ability. As of the errata, the Polymorph set of spells were unlinked from shapechanging abilities. Both follow their own set of rules now.


VanRichten said:
Don't forget that in the MIC it states that magic armor does not resize to fit its wearer. Meaning a medium sized set of armor does not resize to fit a small sized wearer.
However, the errata'd Alternate Form ability specifically states that any gear that can be worn or carried will resize to fit.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top