Mages of the Arcane Order and Specialist Wizards

anrke

First Post
Hi all :)

Hopefully a simple question..
Can a Specialist Wizard / Mage of the Arcane Order call forth a spell from the Spellpool from one of the schools of magic that the Wizard is forbidden ?

Edit: I should also add that I would think you can't draw on spells from the Spellpool that are normally prohibited to you due to school specialization.

My question was sparked from the following build taken from here:
http://forums.gleemax.com/showpost.php?p=14403564&postcount=4
The Focused Specialist Conjurer Battlefield Controller: - The Versatility specialist

This build is a Focused Specialist that will have lost little versatility over a generalist while gaining all those extra spell memorizations:

Race: Strongheart Halfling (cheesy - but not as cheesy as a whisper gnome)

Alternate Class abilities: Level 1 (Fighter feats, Immediate magic). Level 5 (Domain granted power - Magic Domain - now you can use spell trigger items from any school)

Levels:
1: Conjurer (1)(Cloudy Conjuraton, Improved Initiative, Cooperative Spell)
2: Conjurer (2)
3: Conjurer (3)(Sculpt Spell)
4: Conjurer (4)
5: Conjurer (5)
6: Mage of the Arcane Order (1)(Metamagic School: Conjuration)
7: Mage of the Arcane Order (2)(Extend Spell)
8: Mage of the Arcane Order (3)
9: Mage of the Arcane Order (4)(Spell Focus: Conjuration)
10: Mage of the Arcane Order (5)
11: Mage of the Arcane Order (6)
12: Mage of the Arcane Order (7)(Spell penetration)
13: Master Specialist (1) (Skill Focus: Spellcraft)
14: Master Specialist (2)
15: Master Specialist (3) (Greater Spell Focus: Conjuration, Spell focus - transmutation)
16: Archmage (1) Mastery of Shaping
17: Archmage (2) Spell Like Ability: Timestop
18: Archmage (3) Arcane Reach (Greater Spell Penetration)
19: Archmage (4) Mastery of Elements
20: Archmage (5) Spell Power

What this build has going for it:

It's save DC's for Conjuration spells will be very high. It will have lots of castings per day - and can switch out conjuration spells for spellpool spells from restricted schools.

It can also use spell trigger items from any school of magic due to the "Magic Domain" granted power.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

anrke said:
Hi all :)

Hopefully a simple question..
Can a Specialist Wizard / Mage of the Arcane Order call forth a spell from the Spellpool from one of the schools of magic that the Wizard is forbidden ?

Edit: I should also add that I would think you can't draw on spells from the Spellpool that are normally prohibited to you due to school specialization.

It's not explicitly covered under the PrC description, so it's up to DM adjudication, but I agree with you. No calling/using prohibited spells, as far as I'm concerned.
 

A player in my campaign asked me specifically about this just the other day. He's playing a Conjurer and wanted to know if taking that PrC would allow him to cast spells from all schools. I said no. I think that if you can't cast spells from your prohibited schools via wands or scrolls, you shouldn't be able to cast them from the spell pool either. Having said that, I couldn't find anything about it in the errata or FAQ.

Olaf the Stout
 

It's not covered by the prestige class, but I think the standard wizard rules cover it fine. You can't use spells from banned schools.

3.5 SRD said:
Spells of the prohibited school or schools are not available to the wizard, and she can’t even cast such spells from scrolls or fire them from wands. She may not change either her specialization or her prohibited schools later.
 

Arkhandus said:
It's not covered by the prestige class, but I think the standard wizard rules cover it fine. You can't use spells from banned schools.

My player tried to argue that because the spells were from the spell pool, the PC could still gain access to them. Technically the spell pool is not addressed specifically so it is a possibility. Having said that, I think most DM's would rule that you still couldn't cast spells from your prohibited schools.

Olaf the Stout
 

I also tended to look to the standard Wizard rules regarding specialization as the answer.

However.. if you cannot use banned schools from a Scroll or a Wand.. then how about say a Ring, Amulet or other? Scroll I can understand, as you are in effect 'casting' it and required to at least be able to understand that school of magic.
 

Re-read what I copy-pasted from the SRD. Such spells ARE NOT AVAILABLE to the wizard. It doesn't matter that the core rules (obviously) don't address the Spell Pool that appeared in a supplemental book; the rules already say that spells from the banned school(s) are outright unavailable to the wizard. That means he can't cast them, can't learn them, and can't access them. They're UNAVAILABLE. Pure and simple. The wizard can't access them at all, and even if he did somehow gain them, he wouldn't be able to cast them, because they're not available for him to cast.
 


Remove ads

Top