Magic Item Pricing

Azure Trance

First Post
The DM guide and Tome and Blood confuse me. I wanted to make a ring with the theme of ice/cold, but looking deeper into the rules:

DM guide says, any magic item which affects the total limit of magic items you can own* that has more then one power added to it has the base power cost increased by 100% (10% in the DMG, 100% in errata). Yech, expensive.

*Gloves, boots, robe, etc ...

Tome and Blood has an example of a magic item - a belt, specifically - which takes advantage of the "first power full cost, second power 25% off, rest 50%" that is supposed to be limited to only non-limit magic items. The table in Tome and Blood which shows the % off powers has either Create Staff or Create Wonderous Item as the pre-reqs (Create Ring is in the more expensive nonsimilar power category).

I don't really require the item to be a ring, but I just can't picture my character holding a staff. I wanted something more subtle. But if all I have to do is to change the item to something like bracers, then it doesn't matter.

Still, does the magic item creation rules here supercede the DMG ones?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The short answer is of course no, the DMG rules the roost so to speak. Now depending on how you look at it and I haven't done any checking yet, but ice/cold to me is the same "power" so I would have to know exactly what your trying to put into the ring to rule otherwise. I would probably just shoot the price up based on what is desired from the base :)
 

Azure Trance said:
Still, does the magic item creation rules here supercede the DMG ones?

Not really. They're just an extension of those rules (with some clarification as well), provided your DM allows it. If he doesn't, ask him how he got the broom stuck up his <bleep!>. :)
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top