Magic Items creation

tecnowraith

First Post
if you had a way to add a wand to a spear, shortpear or medium-sized pole-arm weapon; would that item still be a wand, a polearm or niether?
Or could you add or "imbue" an offensive spell into a weapon like fireball or magic missile? would it be possible?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


tecnowraith said:
if you had a way to add a wand to a spear, shortpear or medium-sized pole-arm weapon; would that item still be a wand, a polearm or niether?

Up to the DM. There's nothing in the core rules like that.
 

You might take some hints from a weapon in A&E, it's a crossbow that has slots to hold 2 wands. Someone can fire the crossbow or use either wand without having to drop/put away/dig out anything. Sorry but I can't recall the name of the weapon - it's in there in specific weapons.
 

dcollins said:
Up to the DM. There's nothing in the core rules like that.

I disagree. There are all kinds of items in the Core Rules like that.

SRD said:
Dagger of Venom: This black +1 dagger has a serrated edge. It allows the wielder to use a poison effect (as the spell, save DC 14) upon a creature struck by the blade once per day.

Flame Tongue: ... Once per day, the sword can blast forth a fiery ray at any target within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. The ray deals 4d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit.

Luck Blade: ... In addition, a luck blade may contain up to three wishes (when randomly rolled, a luck blade holds 1d4–1 wishes, minimum 0).

Mace of Terror: On command, this +2 heavy mace causes the wielder’s clothes and appearance to transform into an illusion of darkest horror such that living creatures in a 30-foot cone become panicked as if by a fear spell (Will DC 16 partial). They take a –2 morale penalty on saving throws, and they flee from the wielder. The wielder may use this ability up to three times per day.

Nine Lives Stealer: This longsword always performs as a +2 longsword, but it also has the power to draw the life force from an opponent. It can do this nine times before the ability is lost.

Trident of Fish Command: The magical properties of this +1 trident with a 6-foot-long haft enable its wielder to charm up to 14 HD of aquatic animals (Will DC 16 negates, animals get a +5 bonus if currently under attack by the wielder or his allies), no two of which can be more than 30 feet apart. The wielder can use this effect up to three times per day.

Lots and lots of weapons that let you cast spells (or spell-like effects) either a limited number of times or a certain number of times per day.
 

It should count as a weapon.

Everything is possible, generally, the magic item creation rules just provide some guidelines to come up with balanced costs. Some fudging around is often required still.

Bye
Thanee
 

tecnowraith said:
if you had a way to add a wand to a spear, shortpear or medium-sized pole-arm weapon; would that item still be a wand, a polearm or niether?
Or could you add or "imbue" an offensive spell into a weapon like fireball or magic missile? would it be possible?

I would treat it as adding multiple functions to a single item. As the hands are, sort of, a magic item slot, price the cheaper of the two items at double. In the end you have a weapon that can also be activated as a wand.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top