Doppleganger
First Post
Only weapons of your size or smaller can normally be wielded with one hand. A Human Fighter cannot wield a Greatsword in one hand. I am aware of the Monkey Grip feat in S&F, which has requirements of: +3 BAB, 13 Str, Weapon Focus; which allows a person to wield a weapon one size larger abeit at a -2 penalty.
Okay then. Now.
A Halfling Fighter (Small) cannot wield a Club (Medium) in one hand. The question arises, what happens if the character still wants to "attack" with it in one hand anyway? A halfling of decent strength can obviously "carry" a 3 lb club in one hand, just as easily as any other non-weapon object, like a heavy sack of gold coins, etc. He can lightly tap someone with a club, it's not overly long that he can't effectively hold it out horizontally. So what happens if he hits someone hard with it? Sure, he cannot effectively "wield" a medium weapon in one hand, but there's no "force" stopping him from violently swinging the object at someone with intent to harm.
I considered that you could treat the object as an improvised "object" with a -4 attack penalty, but even the improvised weapon rules (at least according to a reference in d20 modern) say exactly the same thing as far as sizes go; that even with the -4 improvised penalty, a small person "must" use two hands to wield a medium-sized "object". Same dilemna.
How would you interpret the rules for this situation?
Okay then. Now.
A Halfling Fighter (Small) cannot wield a Club (Medium) in one hand. The question arises, what happens if the character still wants to "attack" with it in one hand anyway? A halfling of decent strength can obviously "carry" a 3 lb club in one hand, just as easily as any other non-weapon object, like a heavy sack of gold coins, etc. He can lightly tap someone with a club, it's not overly long that he can't effectively hold it out horizontally. So what happens if he hits someone hard with it? Sure, he cannot effectively "wield" a medium weapon in one hand, but there's no "force" stopping him from violently swinging the object at someone with intent to harm.
I considered that you could treat the object as an improvised "object" with a -4 attack penalty, but even the improvised weapon rules (at least according to a reference in d20 modern) say exactly the same thing as far as sizes go; that even with the -4 improvised penalty, a small person "must" use two hands to wield a medium-sized "object". Same dilemna.
How would you interpret the rules for this situation?