Etan Moonstar
First Post
In order to avoid the further hijacking of the thread in which this debate originated, I am going to create a new thread (in the rules forum, even) , paste the previous posts below, and link to the old thread. So without further ado, what has gone before.....
Hypersmurf posted:
To which Etan Moonstar replied:
To which Hypersmurf replied:
To which Etan Moonstar replied:
To which Hypersmurf replied:
Which brings us to this thread. And now...the debate continues!
Hypersmurf posted:
According to the PHB description of Mirror Image, a successful attack roll destroys a figment. Magic Missile has no attack roll, so a PHB Mirror Image cannot be destroyed by a Magic Missile.
The FAQ decided to change the spell, for some reason, and states that a targetted spell can also destroy a figment. It goes on to clarify that a targetted spell is any spell with a 'Target' or 'Targets' entry in the stat block.
Message can hit one target per caster level - thus completely destroying a Maxed Mirror Image at CL8, while Magic Missile caps at 5 targets at CL9.
Message is thus one of the best anti-Mirror-Image spells around.
It's better cast by a wizard than from a wand, because the cost of the wand scales with caster level... but it's not the sort of spell you want to memorise "just in case", usually.
To which Etan Moonstar replied:
The message trick is only going to work with a DM who doesn't know his rules too well. Mirror images, according to the SRD, disappear when struck (i.e. hit by a targetted source of damage, either spell or weapon--the SRD says nothing about an attack roll being required). The FAQ only points out that area effect spells (such as fireball) do not count as striking images. As message spells do not -strike- their targets, they do not therefore destroy mirror images.
But if your DM lets you get away with it and doesn't read these boards, more power to ya.
To which Hypersmurf replied:
The SRD does not contain the rules of Dungeons and Dragons. The SRD contains rules "compatible with the d20 System version of Dungeons & Dragons and various other roleplaying games from Wizards of the Coast."
The rules of D&D are found in the PHB, DMG, and MM.
And according to the entry for Mirror Image in the PHB, "Any successful attack roll against a figment destroys it."
To which Etan Moonstar replied:
In this instance, the SRD text differs from the PHB text only in the use of third-person ("the caster") vs. second-person ("you") and a specific example of how mirror images react to area effect spells. It's quicker for me to refer to the SRD when posting on my computer, but I went and compared with the PHB this time to make sure.
And the first paragraph in both sources states that: "The figments stay near you and disappear when struck."
The spell description later clarifies that any successful attack roll against a figment destroys it. This statement does not, however, exclude the possibility that a non-rolled targetted attack will also destroy the image (that would require the statement: "Only a successful attack roll against a figment destroys it").
Since a message spell does not strike its target--it only makes the target able to hear your whispered message--it does not destroy mirror images.
Points for creativity, Hypersmurf, but the rules on mirror image seem quite clear to this rules-lawyer of a DM, at least.
To which Hypersmurf replied:
Except that most targetted spells - including Magic Missiles - target creatures, and a figment is not a creature.
Thus, you should not be able to strike a figment with a Magic Missile.
However, with a targetted spell, the caster is aware of its success or failure - if it has a saving throw, he knows if that target successfully saved, for example. He does not know this when he casts an area spell.
The FAQ entry does not suggest a targetted spell is required to "strike" a figment to destroy it. If you cast, for example, Hold Person, the figment neither saves, nor fails, nor resists the spell - and since the caster is aware of the effect of a targetted spell, he now has evidence that that figment is not real, and it disappears as per the FAQ text. The figment is not struck, but it is targetted.
In the case of a Message spell, you are simply gathering that evidence on one figment/creature per level.
Which brings us to this thread. And now...the debate continues!
