Metamagic Rod Question

wujenta

First Post
Hi, simple question this time...

Can I use a Rod of Maximize (the one it affects lvl 1-6 spells) to affect my quickened cone of cold?

Im not sure of the answer, because the rod description says that it can be used with spells 6th level or lower, and cone of cold is a 5th level speel, but the quicken made it to the 9th lvl. I know that for purposes of saves and other things is still a 5th lvl spell, but im not sure about if I can use the rod to affect it.

Thanks for all
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I've taken my cue from two other rules:

Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a metamagic version of a spell in a scroll, potion, or wand. Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell’s higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat). A character doesn’t need the metamagic feat to activate an item storing a metamagic version of a spell.

and

A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than three. Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the minor ring of spell storing.

The precedent seems to be that for purpose of interaction with spell level caps on magic items, spells are treated as their slot level, rather than their actual level... so I'd consider the quickened Cone of Cold to be a 9th level spell for purposes of determining which metamagic rod is required.

But since the stated restrictions are on potions, wands, and the ring of spell storing, you could argue that metamagic rods and weapons of spell storing are only limited by the actual spell level, not the higher slot imposed by the metamagic feat.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top