Savage Wombat
Hero
A wizard in my campaign bought herself a metamagic rod from Tome & Blood (Lesser Empowerment, if you're curious.) First time one came up in the campaign.
First time she used it, I had the sudden thought that she should take a full round casting action to spontaneously modify a spell. So we looked it up to see if the book said otherwise.
To my surprise, I discovered that I seemed to have misinterpreted the point of the rod. Since all the rod does is give you the feat, a wizard still has to prepare the spell with the feat in advance. Only sorcerors can spontaneously modify a spell with the rod.
This seems pretty clear, from my reading of the rules. What I want to know is this:
1) Do you agree with my interpretation of the literal rules?
2) If (1) is "yes", do you think that this violates the intent of the Rod? Were casters supposed to modify spells on the fly using it, or not?
3) If (2) is "yes", do you think the item should be rewritten and/or recosted?
4) If (2) is "no", do you think the player shouldn't have bought the damn thing?
First time she used it, I had the sudden thought that she should take a full round casting action to spontaneously modify a spell. So we looked it up to see if the book said otherwise.
To my surprise, I discovered that I seemed to have misinterpreted the point of the rod. Since all the rod does is give you the feat, a wizard still has to prepare the spell with the feat in advance. Only sorcerors can spontaneously modify a spell with the rod.
This seems pretty clear, from my reading of the rules. What I want to know is this:
1) Do you agree with my interpretation of the literal rules?
2) If (1) is "yes", do you think that this violates the intent of the Rod? Were casters supposed to modify spells on the fly using it, or not?
3) If (2) is "yes", do you think the item should be rewritten and/or recosted?
4) If (2) is "no", do you think the player shouldn't have bought the damn thing?