Metamagics in a spell storing weapon

schnivelbiv said:
Under the spell storing description in the DMG it gives several examples of spells that work that are not "Targeted" like a magic missile or a charm person is targeted. It clearly allows touch spells. My DM and I as a DM have ruled that this also means ranged touch spells.

A touch spell is "Target: creature touched".
A ray spell is "Effect: one ray".

See how the touch spell has "Target", and the ray spell has "Effect"? The touch spell is targeted, the ray spell isn't.

Now, this isn't relevant to your game where you've house-ruled it, but as written, Inflict Light Wounds is a targeted spell, and Scorching Ray isn't.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

schnivelbiv said:
My DM and I as a DM have ruled that this also means ranged touch spells.

And there's no problem with that ruling- it doesn't even conflict with the RAW. However, according to the RAW, Ray spells are not "Ranged Touch spells". They require a Ranged Touch attack to hit, yes- but they're Rays, not Ranged Touches. (For example, you can Hold the Charge on a touch spell, but you can't hold a Ray spell, since it's not a Touch spell.) I had the same complaint when I first made a Spell Storing weapon (hoping to store Rays of Enfeeblement in a Spiked Chain, then trip whoever fell victim to an AoO), but rays are clearly defined as Effect spells, not Targetted spells.
 

schnivelbiv said:
A spell storing weapon lets you store a 3rd level or lower targeted spell in your weapon that can be discharged on your target when you hit. My question is, how do the sudden metamagic feats and metamagic rods work on spells that are placed in a spell storing item? ?

Nope. Take a look in the PBH, page88. You cannot apply metamagic feats when 'releasing' a stored spell "A spellcaster cannot use a metamagic feat to alter a spell being cast from a wand, scroll or other device"


schnivelbiv said:
Or more importantly for me can a scorching ray that is empowered from a metamagic rod be put into a spell storing weapon that will only hold up to 3rd level spells?

Nope, again PHB p88. "Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level". Since in the PHB only potions and wands had spell level restrictions I think it's wholly reasonable to assume that this rule also applies to any other item that stores spell levels.

The intent of all these rules in this area is to clearly use the spell slot that the spell occupies as the restriction.
 

Remove ads

Top