minor actions

lexoanvil

First Post
i did a minor playtest last night and a question came up. can a PC use a minor action in were he would use a standard action effectively using 2 minor actions(for instance lay on hands)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

AFAIK, you can "trade down" actions, like in SAGA.

Standard -> move or minor
Move -> minor

So you could take 3 minor actions in a round, but you don't do anything else.
 

Yes, standard can be decomposed into a move which can be turned into a minor. So you could actually do 3 minor actions in a round(4 with an action point). However, lay on hands is only once per round.
 

The three actions (standard, move, and minor) can always be traded down, so a standard can be traded for a move or a minor, and a move can be traded for a minor.

So, the answer to your question is yes.

EDIT: Damn, people reply quickly. :)
 

lexoanvil said:
i did a minor playtest last night and a question came up. can a PC use a minor action in were he would use a standard action effectively using 2 minor actions(for instance lay on hands)

Yes you can substitute a lesser action in for a greater. Standard > Movement > Minor. Now if I just can remember where I read that. :)

Edit:
Wow people REALLY do reply quick... Ok I guess that really anaswers it.
 




raven_dark64 said:
Can you take a full round action AND a minor action (like in 3.5) or not (like in Saga)?

Full-round actions don't appear to exist anymore. At least, there's absolutely no mention of them in the quick-rules primer, and at least a couple of the characters had standard-action powers that let them make multiple attacks, so the old "any source of multiple attacks requires a full attack" seems pretty dead.
 

raven_dark64 said:
Can you take a full round action AND a minor action (like in 3.5) or not (like in Saga)?

Nope. 4e only has standard, move, minor, free, and immediate (separated into immediate interrupts and immediate reactions) actions. There aren't any full round actions.
 

Remove ads

Top