Mirror Image

D+1

First Post
For only being a 1st level spell this does seem to be overly problematic in 3.5. So, you generate several illusory duplicates which separate from you and which the spell says _remain_ in a cluster, each within 5 feet of either you or another image. Nobody can tell the difference between you and an image. The images can move through each other. While YOU are moving you can merge with and split off from the figment images of you so that enemies who may have chosen the real you to attack from amongst all the images can again be confounded.

First observation - what about attacks of opportunity on images that move from one square to another whether or not they move through each other? Also, attacks of opportunity on any image that performs an action that would otherwise draw an attack of opportunity, such as casting? If the REAL you casts a spell all of your illusory images do too, which means you and all your images draw attacks of opportunity, yes? If the real you moves within threatened areas you still draw AoO, yes? So what happens to the square you were standing in? Does the image that occupies the square you move into now move to occupy the square you just left? If it does, wouldn't it also draw AoO? If it doesn't draw AoO and you don't draw AoO - why not? Your enemies simply have to choose which one to attack with the AoO they'd get - and then get to make their normal attacks later. Or does Mirror Image grant you immunity from AoO?

Second observation - what happens if you move away from all your images? The images can move through each other but can they move to unoccupied spaces? What happens when one or more images are no longer within 5' of you or another image? For example, suppose you bring 8 mirror images into existence in a straight line, you occupying one square and then images 1 through 8. [Y12345678] If an enemy attacks and destroys image number 5 images number 6, 7 and 8 are not affected because they are still within 5' of another image. But what if image #7 is destroyed - what happens to image number 8? It is no longer within 5' of you or another image so does it vanish in a puff of logic immediately? Suppose on your turn you run off and take the place previously occupied by image #7. Can you thus reestablish adjacency with image #8 and prevent it from vanishing?

Suppose you have 7 images to your left and 1 to your right. [1234567Y8] If you move to the square occupied by image 1 does one of the images move to occupy position Y? Could ANY image move to occupy position Y where you were? If you leave postion Y for the square occupied by image #1 would that immediately leave image #8 non-adjacent to another image/you and thus destroy it? Or would image #8 be able to move to a square that is NOT occupied by another image - the one where you just were?

Suppose your enemy is a spellcaster who knows all about Mirror Image. He's even made a spellcraft check and knows that is the spell that you cast and which is now in effect. You start in this postion (Y=you, E=enemy, #=mirror images):
--2-
-1Y3
--E-
You move one square, directly to this position:
--2-
-1-3
-YE-
Does Enemy E, knowing that a mirror image figment cannot move to a square not occupied by another image, now KNOW which image is you and can attack you without having to choose randomly between images? If not, why not? Does he get an AoO against you as you move?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I've always assumed that all the images stay in your square, but in slightly different positions within it. Therefore they don't provoke unless you provoke, and you can't work out which one is which just by observing how they move with the character (or by targeting the character in the center square around which all the images are arrayed.)

This interpretation probably doesn't bare too much analysis, but does at least make it simple to get on with the game...

Chris
 
Last edited:

CatharticMoment said:
I've always assumed that all the images stay in your square, but in slightly different positions within it.

This doesn't fit at all with the text as written, which states that each image must remain within five feet of one other image (or the caster) - not within five feet of every other image.

It is, however, the method the Sage suggested recently, for simplicity.

But it's not, strictly speaking, following the way the spell is written.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
This doesn't fit at all with the text as written, which states that each image must remain within five feet of one other image (or the caster) - not within five feet of every other image.

It is, however, the method the Sage suggested recently, for simplicity.

But it's not, strictly speaking, following the way the spell is written.

I think this Sage ruling is possible within a narrow interpretation of the spell, but certainly not the only valid way to run the spell under the rules. (There's nothing that says they must spread out as far as possible.)

As for the specific example, I'd say the mirror images step with you.
 

CRGreathouse said:
I think this Sage ruling is possible within a narrow interpretation of the spell, but certainly not the only valid way to run the spell under the rules. (There's nothing that says they must spread out as far as possible.)

The situation that the Sage ruling enforces is possible under the text as written, but it is not required.

The Sage's ruling disallows all other - equally valid - configurations.

-Hyp.
 


If the text of the spell had just said that all the images must be within 5 feet of any other image AND 5 feet of the caster, the spell would be virtually identical to all it's prior versions and easier to rule on.

I have always used the Sage's suggestion on the spell, it is easier to handle that way.
 

rhammer2 said:
If the text of the spell had just said that all the images must be within 5 feet of any other image AND 5 feet of the caster, the spell would be virtually identical to all it's prior versions and easier to rule on.

But that's the point - it doesn't phrase it that way, so using the Sage's ruling - which is virtually identical to all its prior versions - is inaccurate.

It would be like saying "The wording of 3.5 Darkness is confusing, so we'll jsut assume it provides an area of complete blackness, 'cos that's what it always did." It might be simpler... but it's not 3.5 Darkness...

"All in the same square" might be simple, but it isn't 3E/3.5 Mirror Image.

-Hyp.
 

What happens if you bullrush a mirror image? Does it get pushed back, possibly outside of the legal range for a mirror image, whereupon it poofs, or does it simply disappear on contact, leaving the bull rusher to fall on his face?
 

Remove ads

Top