Moment of Prescience on a reroll?

Lamoni

First Post
What the topic says... can you use moment of prescience on a re-roll that you use with the luck domain?

For example...
you are pretty sure that you need to roll fairly high(let's say above a 15).
You cast moment of prescience earlier that morning, but would rather not use it yet.
You roll first and only get a 12. You don't think it is high enough.
You use your luck domain ability to reroll. Can you use moment of prescience on the reroll?

Applicable sections in the SRD...
Moment of Prescience
This spell grants you a powerful sixth sense in relation to yourself. Once during the spell’s duration, you may choose to use its effect. This spell grants you an insight bonus equal to your caster level (maximum +25) on any single attack roll, opposed ability or skill check, or saving throw. Alternatively, you can apply the insight bonus to your AC against a single attack (even if flatfooted). Activating the effect doesn’t take an action; you can even activate it on another character’s turn if needed. You must choose to use the moment of prescience before you make the roll it is to modify. Once used, the spell ends.

You can’t have more than one moment of prescience active on you at the same time.
LUCK DOMAIN
Granted Power: You gain the power of good fortune, which is usable once per day. This extraordinary ability allows you to reroll one roll that you have just made before the DM declares whether the roll results in success or failure. You must take the result of the reroll, even if it’s worse than the original roll.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


What is the argument for not allowing it?

Is a pissy DM trying to kill you? (sry..still trying to let personal D&D issues go :) )
 

No. You must have used to spells effects on the original roll. The reroll granted by the luck domain is not a roll per say, it's a reroll. Ie you don't actually try to do something twice and thereby being able to use the spells effect, rather you're just plain old lucky. Using the luck domain is equavalent of just rolling a good roll in the first roll. But actually you're not even ensured that, it's just a reroll.

Confused? Well, opun reading my own reply .. I am :)
 


welby said:
so then would you allow the +25 to be added to the original roll and the reroll?

Yes, absolutely. Actually, it is probably not a good idea to refer to it as a reroll, that sort of implies that you have a choice between the two .. you just roll the die again and get that result for better or for worse.

EDIT: Just to make it clear to everyone including me; I do not allow any modifiers that were not on the original roll on the reroll, but any that applied to the original roll applies to the reroll as well. That's how I interpret the rule. YMMV.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top