• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Monastic Tradition: Way of the Empty Bottle

Halflens

First Post
Hey everyone!

First time posting here, so sorry if I'm missing something. Anyway.

I recently got into 5e with some friends, and we realized the monk needed some sort of drunken archetype. in a brief burst of inspiration I came out with this. It turned out being essentially a defense-focused tradition, centered around the unpredictability of the movements of a drunken monk, making it harder to hit.

I have never done something like this before, so I'm really looking forward for tips and all. I'l be taking notes.

Way of the Empty Bottle

Misstep Stance
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you gain the ability to consume a pint of alcohol as a bonus action, to gain the benefit of this stance. When in this stance, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage to a single attack roll against you.
This stance lasts for 1 minute. lt ends early if you are knocked unconscious.
Once you have used this stance twice, you must finish a long rest before you can use it again.
At levels 6, 11 and 17 you gain an additional use of this stance. Moreover, at the same levels you gain an additional reaction while in this stance, that can be used only in the aforementioned way.

Strenght of Spirit
At 6th level, the monk can expend one use of Misstep Stance as a bonus action to get a new saving throw on an ongoing effect for which he failed a previous save.

Dance of the Drunken Devil
At 11th level, if an attack misses the monk because of Misstep Stance, you can expend your reaction to make a single melee attack against an enemy within reach.

Salamander's Spite