Monk question

brehobit

Explorer
How exactly do the "full disciplines" work? "Gives you two actions to chose from" implies that you can only pick one of those actions.

So can you pick a move power from one power and an attack from another?
Can you use both actions in the same round?
How does this work with encounter powers? Do you chose to use either the movement or attack power? Can you use both if in the same round?

Help? The rules seem unclear at best.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Many monk powers have the full discipline keyword. A full discipline power gives you two or more actions to choose from, usually an attack technique and a movement technique. Attack techniques usually require a standard action, and movement techniques are options for your move actions. For a monk, a full discipline power represents a fighting style, a unique combination of a move and an attack.

You can use only one full discipline power per round. However, if you spend an action point to take an extra action, you can switch to a different full discipline power. You can use the techniques of a full discipline power in whatever order you like, and you can choose to use one of the techniques and not the other during a particular round.

The number of times you can use a full discipline power’s techniques during a round is determined by the power’s type—at-will or encounter—and by the actions you have available that round. For example, you can use the techniques of an at-will full discipline power as many times during a round as you like, provided you have enough of the required actions, but you can use the techniques of an encounter full discipline power once during a round. .

So for at-wills...

You can choose:
  • to use both the move and attack option of full discipline power X, provided you spend that appropriate action for each.
  • to use a standard move action and the attack option of full discipline power X, provided you spend that appropriate action for each.
  • to use the move option of full discipline power X and a non-discipline attack, provided you spend that appropriate action for each.
  • to use a standard move action and a non-discipline attack, provided you spend that appropriate action for each.

You can not choose:
  • to use the move option of full discipline power X and the attack option of full discipline power Y, even if you spend the appropriate action for each.

You can choose:
  • to use an option from full discipline power X and, after spending an action point, use an option from full discipline power Y.

So, each round, you can only pick powers from a single full discipline, but you can do so as many times as you have actions available to do so. If you spend an action point, you can choose the granted action from any power.
 
Last edited:

Monk stuff
thanks much!

Out of curiosity, is that actually in the RAW somewhere? The brief part under Monks in the PHB3 doesn't seem to indicate anything at that level of detail (at least to me). Am I missing something obvious, was there errata already (if so where), or something else?

I must say, of the PHB3 classes I _really_ like Monk. I just don't understand it yet :-)
 

thanks much!

Out of curiosity, is that actually in the RAW somewhere? The brief part under Monks in the PHB3 doesn't seem to indicate anything at that level of detail (at least to me). Am I missing something obvious, was there errata already (if so where), or something else?

I must say, of the PHB3 classes I _really_ like Monk. I just don't understand it yet :-)

Yes, in the back of the book, where all the keywords described in the PHB3 are given full write-ups.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top