Monk Rule Questions

walalarga

First Post
Hello all!

I have been looking over the Monk preview in Dragon in preparation for building a monk for a future campaign. There is one at-will power in particular (crane's wing iircc) that looks like one of my favorite ever, but brought up two rule questions while I was looking at it.

1. the at-will attack has a push 1 component. Flurry of blows is a free action triggered by you hitting with an attack. Can you hit with the attack, immediately use flurry of blows, and then resolve the damage and push of the attack? If not, is there any other way to get both your flurry damage and utilize the push 1 from the attack, or is it an either/or situation?

2. the movement portion of the attack allows you to make a running jump at +5. Say there is an orc 3 squares ahead of you, and you got a 20 jump check allowing you to jump 4 squares. Can you jump behind the orc? If so, does the orc get an AoO against you? If not, would you be able to jump over a 2-foot tall goblin?


Thanks in advance!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

FoB is a free action triggered by hitting, so I'd say sure, you get your extra damage and slide... makes a nice combo for moving the enemy about.

As for the jump, technically you can not, without some power or bonus, enter or pass through and opponents square, and at that point you're not really going over. That said, it's a cool move, and I'd allow it but you're still leaving a square adjacent to the opponent without shifting, so that does provoke an OA (in my group we use OA for 4e and AoO for 3.5 (both are still used in different campaigns) as they are different) possibly with CA.
 

1. Flurry occurs when you hit, so does the damage and the push. I don't see any reason why you couldn't do all three at once.

2. I'd say you could jump over the orc, but he'd get an attack of opportunity. The vertical distance you're clearing is 1 square (5 feet). The orc is probably ~6' tall, but I'd ignore the extra height in this case. He would get an AoO though, since you are leaving a square he threatens.
 

1. Don't forget that you can use that Flurry any time in the round after a hit, on anybody. You could technically hit someone, move away, action point to charge another target and flurry a minion as you pass him by.
 

1. Don't forget that you can use that Flurry any time in the round after a hit, on anybody. You could technically hit someone, move away, action point to charge another target and flurry a minion as you pass him by.

Interesting. I never read it that way, but...

Trigger: You hit with an attack during your turn
Special: You can use this power only once per round.

... you can read it that way.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top