Monster Basic Attacks

Meeble

First Post
This is probably a fairly newbish question, but it's something that has come up a couple of times at my table and I want to make sure that my ruling is correct (or correct enough.)

What exactly constitutes a monster (namely, creature that does not wield a weapon of any kind) basic attack?

My assumption has always been that the first listed at-will power of a given range would qualify for the creature's basic attack. For example, if an Abyssal Rotfiend (MM2 page 52) charges a PC, it would use its Skullsplitter attack as part of the charge. If the same creature was somehow given a chance to make a ranged basic attack, it would use Conjure Abscess.

I do see though how this ruling can make many monsters far nastier with a charge than PCs can be. Is this supported anywhere in the RAW, or am I completely off-base?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

This is probably a fairly newbish question, but it's something that has come up a couple of times at my table and I want to make sure that my ruling is correct (or correct enough.)

What exactly constitutes a monster (namely, creature that does not wield a weapon of any kind) basic attack?

My assumption has always been that the first listed at-will power of a given range would qualify for the creature's basic attack. For example, if an Abyssal Rotfiend (MM2 page 52) charges a PC, it would use its Skullsplitter attack as part of the charge. If the same creature was somehow given a chance to make a ranged basic attack, it would use Conjure Abscess.

I do see though how this ruling can make many monsters far nastier with a charge than PCs can be. Is this supported anywhere in the RAW, or am I completely off-base?

Basic attacks are denoted by a circle around the attack icon (MM p. 7). So, yes, the abyssal rotfiend would use skullsplitter when it charges. Conjure abscess, however, is not a basic attack (no circle). The rotfiend does not have a ranged basic attack, so it cannot take advantage of effects that allow it to make one.
 

Basic attacks are denoted by a circle around the attack icon (MM p. 7). So, yes, the abyssal rotfiend would use skullsplitter when it charges. Conjure abscess, however, is not a basic attack (no circle). The rotfiend does not have a ranged basic attack, so it cannot take advantage of effects that allow it to make one.

Argh, how i've missed that all this time I don't know. Thanks for the help!!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top